
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE 
 

ORDER AMENDING RULE 69 OF 
THE RULES OF THE SUPREME 
COURT OF DELAWARE  

§ 
§   
§ 
 

Before STRINE, Chief Justice; VALIHURA, VAUGHN, SEITZ, and 
TRAYNOR, Justices, constituting the Court en banc.  

 
O R D E R 

 
 This 15th day of May 2018, it appears to the Court that it is desirable to 

amend Supreme Court Rule 69.  These amendments are effective June 1, 2018. 

(1) Supreme Court Rule 69(b) is amended to add the underlined text and 

delete the strikethrough text: 

(b) Registration and assessments. (i) On or before March 1, all 
active, inactive and emeritus members, including newly admitted 
members who were admitted before February 1 of each year, are 
required to file a registration statement and pay a fee as set by the 
Delaware Supreme Court. A reminder notice will be sent by email 
before the registration period. Every attorney must update their 
attorney profile with all current contact information including email 
address. If an attorney has not received the reminder notice by the first 
week in January, please contact the Clerk’s office immediately. Late 
fees will apply to late payments regardless of lack of notice from the 
Clerk’s office. Members. Active, inactive and emeritus members, 
including newly admitted members who were admitted before 
February 1 of each year, are required to file an annual registration 
statement. 
 
(ii) Statement. Active, inactive and emeritus members shall, as a 
condition of membership, no later than March 1 of each year, file with 
the Clerk of this Court, in a form approved by the Court, a registration 
statement showing the member’s name, residence address, office 
address, office telephone number, firm association, public office held 
(if any), and such other information as the Court shall direct. 
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(iii) Active assessment. Active members shall pay a registration 
assessment as determined by the Delaware Supreme Court and shall 
pay such assessments as shall be made under Supreme Court Rule 
66(e), Supreme Court Rule 64(g), Delaware Rules for Mandatory 
Continuing Legal Education Rule 3(E)(6) and Supreme Court Rule 
74. 
 
(iiiv) Inactive assessment. Inactive members shall pay an annual 
registration assessment and an annual application assessment as 
determined by the Delaware Supreme Court but shall pay no other 
assessments. 
(v) Failure to register on time. Any active, inactive or emeritus 
lawyer who fails to file an Annual Registration Statement by March 1 
of each year shall pay a $300 late filing assessment. 

 
(2) Supreme Court Rule 69(j) is amended to add the underlined text and 

delete the strikethrough text: 

(j) Late Fees; Administrative Suspension of Membership. Failure 
to file the registration statement and pay the registration fee by March 
1 will result in a $150.00 non-waivable late fee. Failure to file the 
registration statement and pay all fees, including late fees, by April 1 
will result in an additional $200.00 non-waivable late fee. If by April 
15 the registration statement has not been filed with the Court and the 
registration fee and all late fees have not been paid, the attorney is 
deemed administratively suspended from the practice of law. The 
Clerk of the Court shall issue a notice of administrative suspension by 
certified mail at the last known address of record to each member of 
the Bar who has failed to comply with this Rule. 
A lawyer who has been administratively suspended for failure to file a 
registration statement or nonpayment of fees can be retroactively 
reinstated as a member of the Bar by filing a registration statement 
and paying the registration fee plus all accumulated late fees on or 
before July 1. Any lawyer who fails to seek reinstatement by July 1 
shall be required to petition for reinstatement under Rule 22 of the 
Delaware Lawyers’ Rules of Disciplinary Procedure. 
Suspension of membership. On or before May 1 of each year, the 
Clerk of the Court shall issue by certified or registered mail at the 
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address furnished pursuant to subsection b(i) of this Rule (or if no 
such address has been furnished at the last address known to the 
Court), to each member of the Bar who has failed to comply with this 
Rule, a rule to show cause why such member should not be suspended 
as a member of the Bar. 
 

(3) The Clerk of this Court is directed to transmit a certified copy of the 

Order to the clerk for each trial court in each county.  

    
      BY THE COURT: 

           
      Chief Justice 
 
 
 
 
 
  


