Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Winter 2007


Chief Justice Myron T. Steele of the Supreme Court was named second in their list of the 100 most influential persons in business ethics for 2007 by Ethisphere magazine. The list was compiled to honor leaders in business ethics throughout the world and was compiled by an advisory panel composed of experts from major universities and institutions. Chief Justice Steele was named for his impact on government rules and enforcement trends.

Justice Randy J. Holland of the Supreme Court received the American Inns of Court A. Sherman Christensen Award at the American Inns of Court Celebration of Excellence hosted by Supreme Court Justice Samuel A. Alito, Jr. in the Great Hall of the United States Supreme Court on October 20, 2007. The award, which is named after the founder of the first American Inn of Court, is bestowed upon a member of an American Inn of Court who has provided distinguished, exceptional, and significant leadership to the American Inns of Court movement.

Chief Justice Myron T. Steele and Vice Chancellor Leo E. Strine, Jr. of the Court of Chancery were again named in the Lawdragon 500 Leading Lawyers in America. Lawdragon, a legal online publication, combines online balloting and legal research to select its list of the top attorneys in the country who have demonstrated leadership, sustained achievement in the field, and outstanding reputations.

Vice Chancellor Stephen P. Lamb of the Court of Chancery presented at three seminars for the Practicing Law Institute in New York City this year - the April program, “What All Business Lawyers Must Know About Delaware Law Developments in 2007,” a one-day program which he co-chaired; the September program, “Securities Litigation & Enforcement Institute 2007,” where he presented recent developments in Delaware law; and the November 2007 program, “39th Annual Institute on Securities Regulation,” where he spoke on merger and acquisition trends and developments, and Delaware developments in special committee practice.

Vice Chancellor Donald F. Parsons, Jr. of the Court of Chancery received the Award for Dedication to Legal Services to the Poor by Delaware Volunteer Legal Services at their 25 year celebration dinner on November 8, 2007. The award is presented to a member of the Bar who has demonstrated a sterling commitment to pro bono work throughout his or her career by dedicating time and energy to the support and provision of legal services.

Judge Richard R. Cooch of the Superior Court presented the American Judicature Society Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence to The Honorable Pascal Calogero, Jr., Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court, in a ceremony held on October 2, 2007 in New Orleans. Judge Cooch was part of a three-member AJS panel which selected the winner.

Judge Mary M. Johnston of the Superior Court was awarded the 2007 Women’s Leadership Award at the October 24, 2007 Bench and Bar Conference. The award honors a member of the Delaware Bar whose character and achievement have served as an inspiration and model for women lawyers.

Judge Susan C. Del Pesco and Special Master Daniel M. Kristol of the Family Court were featured on a WHYY-TV segment on September 14, 2007 to publicize the Superior Court’s Project Rightful Owner.

Judge Aida Waserstein of the Family Court was honored by Channel 6, ABC, in Philadelphia on October 10, 2007 as an outstanding Hispanic woman in the Delaware Valley. Judge Waserstein also received a resolution from the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania honoring her for receiving the award and for her commitment to the community and helping others.

Commissioner David A. White of the Superior Court spoke at the Delaware Trial Lawyers Association convention in June 2007 on the topic of Toxic Tort Litigation in Superior Court. In addition, he was awarded the 2007 Outstanding Teaching Award from the University of Delaware, Division of Professional and Continuing Studies, for his civil litigation course. Commissioner White also celebrated his fifth year as a member of the Executive Committee of the Delaware State Bar Association, for which he currently serves as Treasurer.

The Family Court received the 2007 John Neufeld award from the Mid-Atlantic Association of Court Managers for its implementation of two initiatives to provide assistance to self-represented litigants. The two programs are the statewide self-help centers and the customer call center piloted in New Castle County.