Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Winter 2006


The Delaware judiciary is proud of the accomplishments of its members, not only for their outstanding day to day work as judges and commissioners, but also for the recognition that they receive from outside organizations. Congratulations are offered to the following judges and commissioners who received recognition recently:

Chief Justice Myron T. Steele and Vice Chancellor Leo E. Strine, Jr. were named among the 500 leading lawyers in the country in the Fall 2006 Edition of the Lawdragon Top 500 Lawyers in America.

Vice Chancellor Leo E. Strine, Jr. (Court of Chancery) was named a Henry Crown Fellow by the Aspen Institute. As such, he is one of 20 young executives and professionals who will participate in a series of leadership development sessions over a two year period. Fellows are nominated for their potential to provide leadership at the highest levels of civic or corporate responsibility.

Resident Judge T. Henley Graves (Superior Court) was recognized by the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services at its Summer Institute on July 24, 2006 for “judiciary leadership and commitment to drug courts.”

Judge William C. Carpenter (Superior Court) was elected for a two year term to the Executive Committee of the National Conference of State Trial Judges (NCSTJ) which is a conference of the Judicial Division of the American Bar Association. Judge Carpenter was also appointed to serve this year as chairman of the American Bar Association’s Judicial Division Membership Committee.

Judge Joseph R. Slights III (Superior Court) was awarded the Distinguished Mentoring Award by the Delaware State Bar Association. This award recognizes a Delaware lawyer or judge who, by mentoring, has served as an inspiration and model.

Resident Judge William L. Witham Jr. (Superior Court) was the featured speaker at Liberty University School of Law’s Center for Career and Professional Development Program on September 19, 2006.

Judge M. Jane Brady (Superior Court) was one of five leaders inducted into the Hall of Fame of Delaware Women on March 16, 2006. To date, 87 women representing a variety of fields have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Chief Judge Chandlee Johnson Kuhn (Family Court) received the 2006 Albert Elias award for outstanding contributions to juvenile justice from the National Council on Crime and Delinquency on October 20, 2006. She was also honored as an inspiration to girls by Girls, Inc. of Delaware at its celebration luncheon on June 8, 2006 and received a Wilmington Award for her work with youth from the City of Wilmington on October 4, 2006.

Judge Aida Waserstein (Family Court) was awarded the John H. Mathis Trailblazer Award at the 7th Annual Partners for Progress Summit on August 10, 2006. The award is given annually to an individual, community organization, state agency and/or business organization that has promoted appreciation of diversity and cultural understanding. Judge Waserstein was chosen for her leadership role as chair of the Delaware Supreme Court’s Certified Court Interpreter Program.

Judge Peter B. Jones (Family Court) was recognized for “Exemplary Pro Bono Publico Service” by the Delaware Supreme Court on June 6, 2006.

Commissioner Patricia Stewart (Family Court) received the Widener University School of Law Adjunct Faculty Distinguished Service Award for 2006.

Judge Joseph F. Flickinger III (Court of Common Pleas) was recognized by the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services at its Summer Institute on July 24, 2006 for his role in establishing mental health courts.