Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Summer 2009


Fugitive Safe Surrender banner
Supreme Court Justice Randy J. Holland presenting the Judicial Branch 2008 Employee of the Year award to Karen Taylor of Superior Court, with President Judge James T. Vaughn, Jr. and Maureen Frederick, Court Administrator of Superior Court, looking on.

     Chief Justice Myron T. Steele announced that Karen Taylor of Superior Court was named the Judicial Branch 2008 Employee of the Year. Ms. Taylor formally received the award on June 5, 2009. Ms. Taylor was selected for her many years of dedication to the Court, her ability to get things done, her willingness to take on new projects and to always stand behind support staff, and, most of all, for her loyalty to Superior Court and the State of Delaware.

     A 23 year employee of the Judicial Branch, Ms. Taylor began her career in Family Court as Judge William Swain Lee’s secretary. In 1986, when Judge Lee was appointed to Superior Court, she became his judicial secretary until his retirement, and in 2000, she became Sussex County’s first paralegal. In that position, she devoted many hours to overseeing the remodeling of the Sussex County Courthouse, in addition to her paralegal duties. In 2005, Ms. Taylor was promoted to Deputy Court Administrator for Sussex County and is responsible for personnel issues, budget, and special projects, such as data cleanup, archiving, and COTS. She has devoted numerous hours to ensuring that the transition to the new COTS system meets the needs of the Court, case managers, title searchers, judges, and the public.

     The other employees nominated for the award, who were honored as employee of the year for their respective courts are: Kay Kris, Judicial Operations Manager, Family Court; Teresa Lindale, Judicial Operations Manager, Court of Common Pleas; Casey Tyndall, Judicial Operations Manager, Justice of the Peace Court; and Patricia Lutz DiIenno, Human Resources Manager, Administrative Office of the Courts.