Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Summer 2006


Chief Justice Myron T. Steele
Chief Justice
Myron T. Steele

      United States Chief Justice John Roberts recently appointed Delaware Chief Justice Myron T. Steele to serve on the Federal Judicial Conference Committee on Federal-State Jurisdiction. “I am confident that your contributions will be many. Your willingness to serve over and above the performance of your regular judicial duties demonstrates your commitment to effective judicial administration, for which I am grateful,” said Chief Justice Roberts in his letter of appointment.

     The Committee, which has 15 members, including eleven federal judges and four state Supreme Court justices, generally meets in January and June of each year. It has responsibility for reviewing legislation and other proposals that could affect federal court jurisdiction. It may also initiate action and recommend statutory changes concerning federal jurisdiction to the Federal Judicial Conference. These recommendations may ultimately be included in the Federal Courts Improvement Act. In addition, the Committee serves as a conduit for communication on matters of mutual concern between the federal judiciary and state courts.

     Chief Justice Steele’s appointment, which will last until October 1, 2007, will enable him to bring a state, and more specifically, Delaware, perspective to the federal-state issues under consideration.