Statement to elaborate on procedures in the Court of Common Pleas in accordance with the Supreme Court’s Administrative Order No. 3. Read statement.

Delaware Courts are in Phase Two of the reopening plan as of June 15, 2020, allowing the public to return to court facilities. Learn more about the public reopening plan.

For the latest on the Delaware Judiciary response to COVID-19 – and for contact information for each court during this emergency – please visit The Delaware Judiciary Response to Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) page.

Judicial Officers

There are nine Judges of the Court of Common Pleas statewide. Five Judges are residents of New Castle County, two Judges are residents of Kent County, and two Judges are residents of Sussex County. Each Judge is nominated by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate for a term of 12 years. To be nominated for the position, each Judge must have been actively engaged in the general practice of law in the State of Delaware for at least five years and must be a citizen of the State. A majority of not more than one Judge may be from the same political party. The same process is used to appoint the Chief Judge.

The Court has two Commissioners, one assigned to New Castle County, and the second Commissioner for Kent and Sussex Counties. The Commissioners have the power to accept pleas, conduct preliminary hearings, petitions for change of name and other non case-dispositive matters.


Court of Common Pleas Judges
  • Chief Judge Alex J. Smalls
  • Judge John K. Welch
  • Judge Rosemary Betts Beauregard
  • Judge Kenneth S. Clark, Jr.
  • Judge Charles W. Welch, III
  • Judge Anne Hartnett Reigle
  • Judge Robert H. Surles
  • Judge Carl C. Danberg
  • Judge Bradley V. Manning


Court of Common Pleas Commissioners
  • Commissioner Mary M. McDonough
  • Commissioner Donald R. Bucklin