Delaware State Courts
   home | feedback 
  search
Delaware State Courts.  The Official Website of the Delaware Judiciary
Delaware State Courts
   CONTACT US
      New Castle County
      Kent County
      Sussex County
  About Us
  ADR
  Annual Messages
  Bench & Bar Liaisons
  Arbitration
  Committees
  Complex Commercial
SUPERIOR COURT
Civil & Criminal Fees

 
CIVIL FEES   (Civil Rules of Procedure: Rule 77(h).)

All filing fees shall be nonrefundable and shall cover costs, except Sheriff 's service, which shall be paid separately by the moving party to the Sheriff.

As required by the State, effective December 1, 2007, the Prothonotary shall collect a $10.00 Court Security Assessment Fee upon all initial civil filings.

The filing fee shall cover the first forty (40) filings of an action. An additional fee of $225.00 shall be paid after each increment of fifty (50) filings is recorded.

A request for a trial date shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $150.00 paid by the requesting party.

Fees do not include advertising costs which shall be billed directly to the filing party.

The Court may order parties to pay other costs such as postage, printing, advertising, and lodging/meals for jurors.

The Prothonotary may refuse any filing for which the fees set forth in the rule have not been paid. Whoever neglects or refuses to pay the fees set forth in this rule for any service or services performed, for 10 days after demand in writing by the officer to whom such fees are due, shall be fined $25.00 in addition to the fees due. The Prothonotary may refuse any filing from an attorney who fails, after second notice, to pay outstanding fees. It shall be the obligation of the attorney to pay timely any court costs or fees incurred by his client.

All payments (Checks, Money Orders, etc.) should be made out to: ' The State of Delaware.'

Superior Court fees for the services specified as follows:
COMPLAINTS
Complaints for Damages
175.00
Condemnation 175.00
Ejectments 175.00
Justice of the Peace Court Appeals 175.00
Automobile Arbitration Appeals 175.00
Declaratory Judgments 175.00
Foreign Judgments 175.00
Replevins 175.00
Foreign Attachments 175.00
Domestic Attachments 175.00
Interpleaders 175.00
Transfers from Court of Chancery 175.00
Removals from Court of Common Pleas 175.00
Amicable Actions
175.00
   
COMPLAINTS SUBJECT TO SUMMARY PROCEEDINGS FOR COMMERCIAL DISPUTES

The filing fee for complaints subject to Summary Proceedings for Commercial Disputes shall be .005 times the amount in controversy, but not less than $175.00 nor more than $5,000.
MECHANIC'S LIENS & MORTGAGES  
Mortgages
175.00
Mechanic's Liens 175.00
   
INVOLUNTARY COMMITMENTS
Involuntary Commitments

N/C
APPEALS
Industrial Accident Board N/C
Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board N/C
Public Service Commission 200.00
Motor Vehicle 175.00
All Other Administrative Agencies 175.00
Court of Common Pleas 175.00
Certiorari 175.00
   
MISCELLANEOUS PETITIONS
Complaints Requesting Orders
    i.e., Return of Property, Subpoena Requests, Release
    of Surplus Funds from Sale of Property, etc.
75.00
Expungement of Criminal Record 75.00
Habeas Corpus N/C
Mandamus 175.00
Prohibition 175.00
Judgment or Mortgage Complaints
    i.e., To extend, renew, satisfy, vacate, set aside, etc.
175.00
Appointment of Attorney N/C
Road Resolution 20.00
Tax Ditch, plus advertising costs 175.00
Possession of Property 50.00
Quo Warranto 175.00
Forma Pauperis N/C
Recording Bonds of Office 10.00
Recount of Vote 175.00
Road Vacation 175.00
   
JUDGMENTS 
Transfers from Other State & District Court
   i.e., Justice of the Peace, Court of Common Pleas,
   Family Court, U.S. District Court, Chancery Court
25.00
Administrative Agency
   i.e., Department of Labor, Division of Revenue, etc.
   Entering a judgment in Judgment Docket, except when
   confessed under warrant of attorney
25.00
Rule 58.1 Confession Judgment 175.00
Rule 58.3 Execution of Judgment 30.00
Foreign Judgment (10 Del. C. § 4781) 50.00
Lien Extension by agreement of parties 15.00
City & County Monitions Tax Lien 25.00
Testatum (to transfer Judgment to another County) 10.00
Petition for Sheriff's Deed 20.00
Judgment marked to the use of another party 10.00
Power of Attorney for Prothonotary to satisfy judgment 20.00
Abstract of Judgment from Justice of the Peace 5.00
Demolition Lien 10.00
Racketeering-Influenced/Corrupt Organization (RICO) N/C
   
EXECUTIONS
Each Writ
   i.e., Initial writ, alias, and any writ thereafter including, but not
   limited to fieri facias, venditioni exponas, levari facias, order
   of sale, writ of possession

50.00
MISCELLANEOUS SERVICES  
Notary Certificate 5.00
Notary Commission (NEW) 20.00
Notary Commission (RENEWAL) 10.00
Notary Fee 5.00
Bad Check Processing Charge 25.00
Registration of Fictitious Name or Business Name 25.00
Preparation of Appeal to Supreme Court 100.00
Certificate of Abatement 10.00
Certified copy of any document
   (not to exceed 3 pages without additional copy charge)
10.00
Exemplified copy of any document
   (not to exceed 3 pages without additional copy charge)
25.00
Subpoena issued by Prothonotary 10.00
Presigned numbered subpoenas N/C
Closed Case retrieval fee 10.00
Closed Case retrieval fee (expedited) 25.00
Jury Panel Listing 25.00
Request for Trial Date or Pretrial Conference 150.00
The cost for Special Juries shall be as stated in the Plan for Special Juries.
[See also: Superior Court Civil Rule 3(e).]

 
MEDIATION

When a Superior Court Commissioner serves as a mediator, the fee for mediation services shall be a minimum of two (2) hours at the rate of $150 per hour of hearing time. Each party shall pay the party's share to the Prothonotary within twenty (20) days of notice of the appointment of the Commissioner as a mediator. It is the obligation of each attorney, or any party appearing pro se, to timely pay the costs of ADR and any additional mediation fee when billed. The Court may impose sanctions against any party who fails to timely pay any fee required by this rule. The fee shall be deposited to the General Fund.
NON-FEE CHARGES
Copy Charge    (maximum per page) 1.50
Copy Charge—FAX    (maximum per page) 8.00
   
TRANSCRIPTS (Based on per-page rate. Effective May 11, 2003.)
Original & 1 copy (normal) 3.00
Additional 1 copy (normal) 2.00
Original & 1 copy (expedited) 5.00
Additional 1 copy (expedited) 3.00
Original & 1 copy (daily/overnight) 6.50
Additional 1 copy (daily/overnight) 4.00
Realtime **
     ** Plus mandatory transcript rate for normal delivery.
2.50
 
CRIMINAL FEES (Criminal Rules of Procedure: Rule 58.)
 
As required by the State, effective December 1, 2007, the Prothonotary shall collect a $10.00 Court Security Assessment Fee on all criminal and traffic charges for which there is a conviction.
   
Transfer from the Court of Common Pleas 100.00
Appeals from Court of Common Pleas 100.00
Indictment by true bill w/o previous commitment 100.00
New information from attorney general's office 100.00
Appeals from Family Court 100.00
Transfer from Family Court 100.00
Appeals from inferior courts 100.00
Commitments from inferior courts 100.00
   
TRANSCRIPTS (Based on per-page rate. Effective May 11, 2003.)
Original & 1 copy (normal) 3.00
Additional 1 copy (normal) 2.00
Original & 1 copy (expedited) 5.00
Additional 1 copy (expedited) 3.00
Original & 1 copy (daily/overnight) 6.50
Additional 1 copy (daily/overnight) 4.00
Realtime ***
   One party or agency
   Two parties or agencies
2.75
2.30
 
   *** Mandatory transcript not required except for appeal or impeachment purposes.