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Many criminal defendants, although employed, are unable to
pay their fines, costs and/or restitution at the time the
sentences are imposed. Rathér then opting for the deferred pay-
ment route with regard to such cases, another viabie option
should be explored in appropriate cases. - This option is the
assignment of earnings option permitted by 11 Del.C., §4104(c)
which reads as follows:

"(c} Any court may, in its discretion,
direct any person sentenced to pay & fine or
restitution upon conviction of a crime, who is
employed within this State or by a Delaware
resident or employer, to execute an assignment of

_a specified periodic sum not to exceed 1/3 of his
total earnings, which assignment shall direct his
employer to withhold and remit that amount to this
State up to the total of the fine, costs and
restitution imposed. ’

An assignment of earnings executed 1in
accordance with this subsection shall be binding
upon an employer in the same manner as an attach-

.‘




ment of wages pursuant to Title 10, except that an
assignment need be filed only once with the
employer who shall make the withholding and
remittances until the full amount is paid. An
amount of total earnings consistent with federal

Taw may be assigned, An employer shall take no
action against an employee who has executed an
assignment, and the penalty imposed upon an

employee solely because of an assignment under

this subsection shall be in accordance with the

manner set forth for attachments." (Emphasis

added.)

What are the parameters of this statutory provision?
First, the defendant must be employed:

(a) within Delaware; or,

(b) by a Delaware resident; or,

(c) 5y a Delaware employer.

Second, the defendant must have been convicted of a crime.
Any offense which sets forth criminal penalties for conviction
therecf is considered as a crime. Thus, offenses which set forth
criminal penalties for convictions thereof, even though found
outside of Title 11 of the Delaware Code, such as Title 21
traffic offenses, are subject to the provisions of 11 Del.C.,
§4104(c}.

Finally, only an amount of total earnings consistent with
federal law may be assigned, notwithstanding the "1/3 of his
total earnings" provision as found within §4104(c). The maximum

1
allowable amount for a wage attachment under federal law is the

lesser of:

1
15 u.s.Cc., §1673(a).
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1. 25% of an employee's disposable earnings® for that
week, oOr
2. The amount by which his disposable earnings for that

week exceed 30 times the Federal minimum hourly wage in effect at
the time the earnings are payable.3

Suppose the defendant, John Doe, 1is employed by the ABC
'Company of Dover. He earns $300 per week gross. His disposable
earnings egual $200. Under the federal formula, the amount of
his earnings subject to a §4104(c) assignment is the lesser of:

1, 25% of $200 = $50: or

2. $200 minus $100.50 = $99.50

Fifty dollars per week are subject to assignment under the
provisions of §4104{(c).

Now let's assume that the Court imposed a fine of $50, VCF
assessment of $7.50, Court costs of 5124 and restitution in the
amount of $150, for a total of $219.50. The assignment of

earnings, would, in the above, case, call for 4 weekly payments

of the full $50 and a 5th payment for the remaining $19.50.

2

"Disposable earnings" are defined as gross wages minus mandatory
deductions which would include federal, state and city taxes and
FICA. See: 15 U.S.C., §1672(b).

3

The present minimum wage is $3.35 per hour. Thirty times $3.35
eguals $100.50.

4

$8.50 Court costs, $2 for issuance of bond, and §$1.50 for
recovery of certified mail costs. This latter figure is an
estimate.




Pavments should be made out to the applicable'Justice of the
Peace Court which would then be responsible for disbursing the
paymenté to the proper parties, to wit:

(a) $150 to the victim as restitution:

(b) §$58.50 to the State, or $50 to the municipality or
county and $12 to the State whichever is appropriate; and,

(c} $7.50 to the Victim's Compensation Board.6

A copy of Criminal Form No. 19 (Rev. 9/86), the revised
§4104(¢) wage assignment form, is attached for your review. This
form and the procedures connected therewith as set forth above
may be utilized in the Court's discretion. Although not legally
required, better practice dictates that permission from the
defendant to have his wages assigned be given as a prerequisite
for the use of this collection method. The form contemplates
that such permission be provided for a $§4104(c) wage assignment.
For control purposes, a $§4104(c) assignment of wages form should
be sent to the employer by certified mail, return receipt

reguested, the costs therecf to be added as Court costs. See:

Footnote 4, supra.

5
See: Policy Directive 85-098, dated July 26, 1986; Supplement
dated August 27, 1986; 2nd Supplement dated September 9, 1985.

6

You will note that the VCF assessment has been include within
the costs subject to a wage assignment. It's omission from the
provisions of §4104(c) is clearly an inadvertant oversight.
There 1is no proscription barring the inclusion of a VCF
assessment from a §4104(c) wage assignment. For the sake of
uniformity and consistency, it is suggested that these assess-
ments may be included within the term "costs" as used in
§4104(c).




The Justice of the Peace Courts have several collection
“weapons" at their disposal. Among these are: Deferred payments
as authorized by 11 Del.C., §4104(a) (2):; Taking and holding a
defendant's driving license as security for the paymen£ of fines,
costs, restitution, and assessments as permitted by 11 Del.C.,
§4104(e); Work referral as permitted by 11 Del.C., §4l05ib): and
Wage assignments as permitted by 11 Del.C., $§4104(c).

Let's see if we can't decrease the amount of outstanding
fines, <c¢osts, restitution, and VCF #ssessments through greater
use of wage assignments.

NAB:pn
Attachment
cc: The Honorable Andrew D. Christie

Michael E. McLaughlin
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ATTACHMENT

'® WAGE ASSIGNMENT

1, , hereby assign to the State of

Dejaware § of my (weekly, semi-monthly or monthly) wages thereby

permitting me to pay my fine ang costs on an instaliment basis. Should ] default in

my payments, Justices of the Peace Court No. ., at
"shall notify my employer,
or any employer for whom ] am employed at that time and

that employer shall withold and remit § to the State of Delaware {weekly,

semi-monthly or monthly) until the fine and costs in the amount of §

have been paid.
70 THE EMPLOYER: 11 Del. Code Section 4104(c} requires you to accept this Assigment in the sawe memer
as an Attacment of Mages Pursuant to 10 Del. Code. You must make the withholding ard

remittance uttil the full sroutt §s paid.

PTTNESS: ' '

'l.an: (Sigrature)

i. (Street]

- — Jstice of the Peace ity od S8 {Zip LoE)
- Phore: 1

Crimina] Form No. 19 (Rev. 9/66) Court Copy Doc. No. G2 13 86 09 11
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