
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE 

 

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES 

OF THE SUPREME COURT OF 

DELAWARE, THE DELAWARE 

RULES FOR CONTINUING 

LEGAL EDUCATION, and THE 

DELAWARE LAWYERS’ RULES 

OF DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURE 

 

§ 

§   

§   

§ 

§ 

§ 

§ 

Before SEITZ, Chief Justice; VALIHURA, TRAYNOR, LEGROW, and 

GRIFFITHS, Justices, constituting the Court en Banc.  

 

ORDER 

 

 This 8th day of October 2025, it appears to the Court that: 

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court of the State of Delaware has adopted the 

Delaware Rules for Continuing Legal Education (the “CLE Rules”), which set forth 

the requirements for continuing legal education, and the Delaware Lawyers’ Rules 

of Disciplinary Procedure (the “Disciplinary Procedure Rules”), which set forth 

procedures for deciding attorney disciplinary matters; 

WHEREAS, Supreme Court Rule 69(j) provides for administrative 

suspension of lawyers who fail to file the annual registration statement and pay the 

registration and late fees by April 15; 

WHEREAS, Supreme Court Rule 69(j) requires administratively suspended 

lawyers who do not file the registration statement and pay the registration and late 

fees by July 1 to petition for reinstatement under Rule 22 of the Disciplinary 

Procedure Rules; 
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WHEREAS, Rule 5(D) of the CLE Rules provides for administrative 

suspension of lawyers who fail to timely satisfy their CLE obligations and then fail 

to cure their noncompliance by April 15 following the end of their compliance year; 

WHEREAS, Rule 5(D) of the CLE Rules requires administratively suspended 

lawyers who do not complete missing credits, submit proof of completion, and pay 

all delinquency fees by July 1 following the end of their compliance year to petition 

for reinstatement under Rule 22 of the Disciplinary Procedure Rules; 

WHEREAS, under Rule 22 of the Disciplinary Procedure Rules, lawyers 

seeking reinstatement following suspension from practice, except for suspensions of 

six months or less, must prove their rehabilitation and fitness to practice, among 

other facts, at a hearing before the Board on Professional Responsibility, followed 

by review by the Court;  

WHEREAS, the Court has determined that it is appropriate to establish new 

procedures for reinstatement from administrative suspension; 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that: 

(1) Delaware Supreme Court Rule 69(j) shall be amended to add the 

underlined text as follows: 

Late Fees; Administrative Suspension of Membership.  Failure to file 

the registration statement and pay the registration fee by March 1 will 

result in a $150.00 non-waivable late fee.  Failure to file the registration 

statement and pay all fees, including late fees, by April 1 will result in 

an additional $200.00 non-waivable late fee.  If by April 15 the 

registration statement has not been filed with the Court and the 
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registration fee and all late fees have not been paid, the attorney is 

deemed administratively suspended from the practice of law.  The Clerk 

of the Court shall issue a notice of administrative suspension by 

certified mail at the last known address of record to each member of the 

Bar who has failed to comply with this Rule.  A lawyer who has been 

administratively suspended for failure to file a registration statement or 

nonpayment of fees can be retroactively reinstated as a member of the 

Bar by filing a registration statement and paying the registration fee 

plus all accumulated late fees on or before July 1.  Any lawyer who fails 

to seek reinstatement by July 1 shall be required to petition for 

reinstatement under Rule 22.1 of the Delaware Lawyers’ Rules of 

Disciplinary Procedure. 

 

(2) Rule 5(D) of the CLE Rules shall be amended to add the underlined 

text as follows: 

(D) Delinquency Fees; Administrative Suspension: Failure to cure the 

noncompliance by March 1 as provided in Rule 5(C) will result in an 

additional $150 delinquency fee.  Failure to cure the noncompliance 

and pay all delinquency fees by April 1 will result in an additional $200 

delinquency fee.  If by April 15 the noncompliance has not been cured, 

the Attorney is deemed administratively suspended from the practice of 

law, and the Clerk of the Court shall issue a notice of administrative 

suspension by certified mail to the Attorney’s last known address of 

record and distribute such notice to the courts in accordance with the 

Court’s procedures relating to administrative suspensions.  An Attorney 

who has been administratively suspended under this Rule may seek 

retroactive reinstatement as a member of the Bar by completing the 

missing credits, submitting proof of completion to the Commission, and 

paying all delinquency fees by the July 1st following the end of the 

Attorney’s Compliance Year.  An Attorney who fails to seek 

reinstatement by that deadline shall be required to petition for 

reinstatement under Rule 22.1 of the Delaware Lawyers’ Rules of 

Disciplinary Procedure. 

 

(3) Rule 22(a) of the Disciplinary Procedure Rules shall be amended to add 

the underlined text as follows: 
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Proof of rehabilitation.  Reinstatement following suspension from 

practice, except for suspensions of 6 months or less or administrative 

suspensions to which Rule 22.1 applies, shall require proof of 

rehabilitation before the Board and a final order of reinstatement by the 

Court. 

 

(4) The Disciplinary Procedure Rules shall be amended to add a new Rule 

22.1, which shall provide as follows:  

Rule 22.1. Reinstatement following administrative suspension.   

(a) A lawyer who has been administratively suspended under 

Supreme Court Rule 69(j) or Continuing Legal Education Rule 

5(D) and fails to seek reinstatement by July 1 of the year of the 

administrative suspension may seek reinstatement by filing a 

petition for reinstatement with the Supreme Court and serving 

the petition upon the ODC.  The petition shall include the 

petitioner’s explanation for the administrative suspension and the 

petitioner’s plans to remedy the basis for the administrative 

suspension.  The petitioner bears the burden of demonstrating 

that there are good reasons for reinstatement. 

(b) The ODC shall make a recommendation to the Court on how the 

petition should be addressed.  In making its recommendation, the 

ODC should consider: 

(i) the petition for reinstatement; 

(ii) the length of time since the petitioner was administratively 

suspended; 

(iii) the petitioner’s fitness to practice, overall competence, and 

current awareness of recent developments in the law; 

(iv) the petitioner’s compliance with annual registration and 

continuing legal education requirements before their 

administrative suspension; 

(v) the petitioner’s status to practice in any other jurisdiction; 

and 

(vi) any other information the ODC believes to be relevant. 
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(c) Within 30 days of service of the petition for reinstatement, the 

ODC shall file its recommendation, including the basis for the 

recommendation, with the Court.  The ODC may recommend: 

(i) granting of the petition, with or without conditions; 

(ii) referring the petition to the Board on Professional 

Responsibility for further action in accordance with Rule 

22 of these Rules; 

(iii) referring the petition to the Board of Bar Examiners for 

determination of the petitioner’s suitability to resume 

active status; 

(iv) the denial of the petition; or 

(v) any other course of action that the ODC believes is 

reasonable under the circumstances.   

(d) Within 15 days of service of the ODC’s recommendation, the 

petitioner may file a reply. 

(e) The Court shall review the petition, recommendation, and reply, 

if any.  If the Court finds that the petitioner has shown good 

reasons for reinstatement, the Court may enter an appropriate 

order reinstating the petitioner with any conditions.  If the Court 

finds that the petitioner has not shown good reasons for 

reinstatement, regardless of whether reinstatement has been 

recommended by the ODC, the Court may deny the petition or 

direct further proceedings as appropriate.     
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(5) The amendments are effective immediately.  The Clerk of this Court is 

directed to transmit a certified copy of this order to the clerk for each trial court in 

each county. 

 

BY THE COURT: 

/s/ Collins J. Seitz, Jr. 

       Chief Justice 
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