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Reporting Law 3

Under 16 Del. C. § 903, “any person, agency, organization, or entity who knows
or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect, including_ human trafficking_of
a child, shall make a report.” This means that every person in Delaware is
mandated to report child abuse and neglect, including human trafficking_of a
child. In addition, agencies, organizations, and entities will be held
accountable when individuals fail to report.

The law also clarifies that “no individual with knowledge of child abuse or
neglect, or knowledge that leads to a good faith suspicion of child abuse or
neglect, shall rely on another individual who has less direct knowledge to call
the report line.” This means that an individual does not satisfy his/her
statutory, child abuse mandatory reporting obligations if he/she relies on
another person without direct knowledge to make the report on his/her behalf.

However, if there are multiple people with direct knowledge of child abuse or
neglect, a joint report may be made by one person, but it must include all
persons with joint knowledge of the known or suspect incident of child abuse
or neglect. The best practice would be for all the individuals with direct
knowledge to call the Report Line together.

Remember, professionals licensed through the Delaware’s Division of
Professional Regulation and the Department of Education, MUST provide
their name and address when making reports.

Click here to view the full Delaware Code online

Failure to Report [EGY

Individuals who fail to report child abuse or neglect may be liable for a civil
penalty. The Division of Family Services (DFS) reports all persons, agencies,
organizations, and entities to the Department of Justice for investigation if they
fail to make mandatory reports of child abuse or neglect to the DFS Report Line.
The civil penalty must not exceed $10,000 for the first violation, or $50,000 for
subsequent violations. 3



https://delcode.delaware.gov/

Who Can Be a Perpetrator

A perpetrator is a person who engages in child abuse or neglect, and can
include:
« A Child’s Parent/Caregiver,
e Spouse or Former Spouse of Parent,
Relative,
Sibling,
Another Child, and
e An Employee of a Agency, School, or Organization

It is important to note that anyone can be a perpetrator of child abuse and
neglect.

Handling a Disclosure

Disclosure means a child has chosen you as the person they trust to tell what has
happened to them. If a child discloses abuse or neglect, listen, believe, and support
the child. Disclosing is scary and the child might think they are in trouble for telling
or did something wrong. Let the child know it is not their fault, they did nothing
wrong, and they didn’'t do anything to deserve what happened to them.

Immediately after a child discloses, make the report.

How you react to a disclosure matters and it's critical not to traumatize the child
further. Stay calm and don't yell or get upset. Give the child time and space to talk
about what happened. Allow for silence while the child is telling their story and only
after they are done, thank them for sharing. If they haven't already shared the
information you need to make a report (who, what, when, Where), ask the Minimal
Fact Questions but nothing more. Leave the questions to the trained professionals
so the child doesn't have to keep reliving the trauma every time they are
questioned.

Never ask the child to undress or take photographs. Do not question the child
beyond the Minimal Fact questions. Your only job is to respond to the disclosure

and immediately make the report.

Listen, believe, support, and report.



Minimal Facts

S

Minimal Fact Questions may be necessary when an individual has knowledge
or reasonable suspicion of child abuse or neglect AND must make a report to
the DFS Report Line. Minimal Fact Questions help reporters to obtain the
information needed to make a clear and concise report of child abuse and
neglect, and it focuses reporters on the essential information — who, what,
when, and where?

There are three scenarios when individuals may have knowledge or
reasonable suspicion of abuse or neglect:
1.Disclosure - A child discloses to you
2.Discover - You witness the abusive behavior
3.Reason to Suspect — You have seen behavioral and/or physical signs of
abuse or neglect with child

If you withess an act of abuse or neglect, ensure the child is physically safe,
immediately contact the police and then call DFS. It is hot necessary to ask
the minimal facts in situations where the child is imminent danger.

The Minimal Fact Questions are as follows:

What happened?

Who did that to you? Are there other victims/witnesses?
Where did this happen?

When did this happen?

Make sure to write down the child’s exact words. Also, try to limit the number of
persons the child interacts with so the child will not have to tell the information
over and over again. Finally, if the child is unable to commmunicate, then make
the report based on your observations of the behavioral and/or physical
indicators of child abuse or neglect.



Making a Report

800-292-9582 iseethesigns.delaware.gov

All suspected child abuse and neglect of any minor in the state of Delaware must
be reported to the DFS Report Line at 1-800-292-9582. Professionails licensed by
the Division of Professional Regulation or Department of Education may NOT
report anonymously - you must leave your name [16 Del. C. § 905].

Mandated reporters must keep in mind that the child’s safety could be in jeopardy if
a report is not received in a timely manner. When a child’s life is in danger, you
should call 911 immediately and then make a call to the Report Line.

Oral reports must be made to the report line for any of the following circumstances:
e Sexual abuse, including human trafficking of a child, where the alleged

perpetrator has access to the alleged victim

Child death

A child with a current physical injury

A child who requires immediate medical attention or an immediate mental

health evaluation

A child who has no caregiver, is currently unsupervised, or is living in conditions

that are immediately hazardous to the child’s health or safety

Non-emergent reports of child abuse or neglect may be submitted online to DFS
at iseethesigns.delaware.gov. Examples of a non-emergent report would be if a
child is often dressed inappropriately for the weather, discloses abuse from a
distant relative that does not live in their home, or an adult or child discloses an
instance of historical abuse or neglect. Online reports satisfy your obligation
under the law so long as the online reporting tool is utilized appropriately.

Please note that online reports are not reviewed immediately like Report Line
calls. Online reports should never be used if any of the circumstances listed
above are present. If in doubt about whether a Report Line call is needed, the online
reporting tool will provide mandated reporters with direction, as long as the
questions are answered accurately. If the tool determines that a call to the Report

Line is warranted, please make the callimmediately.
6



DFS uses the Structured Decision Making® model for handling reports received
through the Report Line. The three main questions that will be asked of the
reporter are:

e What are you worried about?

e What is working well?

e What needs to happen next?

These questions act as guides for helping Report Line staff understand the
complete scope and nature of the report. Spanish translation is available 24/7.
When the reporter leaves their name and number, a translator is on call and will
call the reporter back to take the report. Every report is digitally recorded and
reviewed by a DFS Report Line supervisor. If informed that your report does not
meet criteria for investigation and you continue to have concerns, you should
ask to speak to a Report Line Supervisor.

DFS Response

DFS is required to receive all suspected reports of child abuse and neglect in
the state. Upon receipt of a report of suspected abuse or neglect, DFS will do
one of three things:

\/ 1) Accept the report and investigate the allegations OR
conduct a family assessment

@ 2) Refer the report to law enforcement for investigation

——| 3) Document the report but not investigate the allegations

DFS responds according to the priority level given to each investigation case.
DFS Response times are:

P1: Within 24 hours;
P2: Within 72 hours;
P3: Within 10 days. ;



Information Needed

The DFS Report Line may ask reporters to provide information such as:
e Child's statements
e Physical symptoms and/or behavioral changes
e Any information about the way the caregiver’s behavior is impacting the care of
the child
e Alleged child victim’s physical health, mental health, educational status
e Medical attention that may be needed for injuries
e Family composition
e Any information that could put the child’s or DFS worker’s safety in peril

Demographics can usually be found in the child’s records. If you already have the
information, then there is no need to ask the child. Prepare to be on the phone call for
about 20 minutes so that you can make a detailed report. Reports by professionals
cannot be made anonymously-you must leave your name.

MDT Response

The Delaware Code requires a comprehensive investigation by a multidisciplinary
team (MDT) for cases of child abuse and neglect. This approach is described in a
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the MDT, which consists of DFS, law
enforcement, the Department of Justice and the Children’s Advocacy Center.

MDT Roles and Responsibilities:

e DFS:is required to receive all suspected reports of child abuse and neglect in the
state. However, DFS is only responsible for investigating intrafamilial and
institutional cases. The only exception to this is cases of child trafficking. While
extrafamilial cases must be reported to DFS, DFS is only responsible for receiving,
documenting and referring these cases to law enforcement for investigation.

e Law enforcement agencies: are responsible for conducting criminal
investigations of child abuse and neglect. Reports may be made to law
enforcement but not in lieu of contacting DFS.

e Department of Justice (DOJ): are responsible for the prosecution of criminal
cases throughout the State from misdemeanors to murders.

e Children’s Advocacy Center (CAC): Whenever appropriate, cases will also be
referred to the CAC for a forensic interview, medical exam and/or mental health
screening.

Click here to view the complete MDT response section of the Delaware Code
8



https://delcode.delaware.gov/title16/c009/sc01/index.html
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Definitions of Abuse & Neglect

Physical Abuse
Physical abuse is a nonaccidental physical injury to a child caused by a parent,
caregiver, or other person responsible for a child. Physical abuse may include:
o Punching,
Beating,
Kicking,
Biting,
Shaking,
Choking,
Hitting (with a hand, stick, strap, or other object)

O O O O o o

Any and all of these incidents require an immediate report to the DFS Report Line,
and DFS is required to notify law enforcement of potential criminal violations against
a child. Reporters are not responsible for determining if the use of force against a
child is justified or unjustified. DFS or law enforcement will make that
determination.

Neglect
The safety and well-being of the child is impacted as a result of:
e Failure of a parent or other caregiver to provide for a child’s basic needs such
as food, shelter, medical care, or access to crisis services.
e Failure of a parent or caregiver to provide appropriate supervision for a child
e Parental or caregiver substance abuse which negatively impacts the care of a
child

Dependency

The parent or caretaker does not have the ability or financial means and fails to:
o Provide necessary care and/or;
o Child is living in a non-related home on an extended basis

The term “extended basis” is used to suggest that the child resides in the home, as
opposed to just visiting. It is the responsibility of DFS to determine if the living
arrangement has been on an extended basis and to explore the appropriateness of
the living arrangement through interviews, a home assessment, and background
checks.



Definitions of Abuse & Neglect

Sexual Abuse

Sexual abuse is any sexual act between an adult and a minor, or between two
minors when one exerts power over the other. It also includes non-contact acts
such as exhibitionism, exposure to pornography or voyeurism.

Delaware’s consent law is broken down into these age groups:
e Children less than 12 years old: CANNOT legally consent to sexual contact.
e Children ages 12-15 years old: can ONLY consent with someone who is no more
than 4 years older than the child.
e Children ages 16-17 years old: can consent with someone under 30 years old.
e ALL children under 18: CANNOT legally consent to sexual contact with ANYONE
in a position of trust, authority, or supervision over them.

Adult Sexual Misconduct

Adult Sexual Misconduct or ASM is any activity, physical, sexual, or otherwise,
directed to a student with the objective of developing a romantic or sexual
relationship.

Adult Sexual Misconduct includes a broad range of behaviors, ranging from
inappropriate to illegal.

The broad range of behaviors include conduct such as:
o inappropriate verbal conduct
o inappropriate physical conduct
o inappropriate sexual conduct

Commercial Sexual Exploitation

Commercial Sexual Exploitation is the broad term under which Domestic Minor Sex
Trafficking (Child Trafficking) is categorized. It includes the recruitment, harboring,
transportation, provision, or obtaining of a person for the purpose of a commercial
sex act, in which the commercial sex act is induced by force, fraud, or coercion, or in
which the person induced to perform such an act has not attained 18 years of age.

Reminder: DFS is required by statute to investigate all cases of suspected Child
Trafficking. Even if the child is known to DFS a separate report must be made.

10



Definitions of Abuse & Neglect

Grooming

Grooming for the purpose of sexual contact means actions, interactions,
communications in any capacity, and behaviors by a person of trust to build a
relationship with a student or individuals close to the student in an effort to gain
access to and time alone with the student, with the ultimate goal of engaging
in sexual contact or sexual penetration with the student, regardless of when in
the student’s life the sexual contact or sexual penetration would take place.

Emotional Maltreatment
Emotional Maltreatment is sometimes defined as psychological maltreatment,
which includes both emotional abuse and emotional neglect:
e Emotional Abuse— A pattern of behavior that impairs a child’s emotional
development or sense of self-worth.
e Emotional Neglect— incidents of isolating/shunning, rejecting, or ignoring a
child.

Domestic Violence

Domestic violence is the willful intimidation, physical assault, battery, sexual
assault, and/or other abusive behavior as part of a systematic pattern of
power and control perpetrated by one intimate partner against another. Cases
involving children must be reported to DFS when a child is experiencing:

e Physical Harm— child is injured; child is suspected to be injured, since a
weapon or potentially dangerous object has been used; or child has
attempted to physically intervene.

¢ Emotional Harm— child is aware (sight or sound) of an incident
perpetrated against their caregiver and it involves a significant injury to the
victim or use of a weapon; and child has a diagnosed mental health
condition or behaviors that signify severe psychological harm.

1



Understanding risk and protective factors of child abuse or neglect is
important as it is a way to connect families to resources they may need. Please
see below for more information on risk and protective factors.

Risk Factors of Abuse

Child abuse and neglect affects children of every age, race, and income level.

However, research has identified many factors relating to the child, family,
community, and society that are associated with an increased risk of
experiencing child abuse or neglect. Common risk factors include the following:

e Individual Risk Factors— infants and young children, special needs,
presence of non-biological or transient caregivers in the home, or the child
is female.

e Family Risk Factors— substance abuse, mental health, intergenerational
trauma, family violence, young age, low education level, unstable family
structure, inability to meet basic needs, and a lack of understanding of what
a child needs, their development or parenting skills.

e Community Risk Factors— community violence, concentrated neighborhood
disadvantage, high unemployment rates, poor social connections.

Protective Factors of Abuse

Protective factors refer to a set of characteristics that can both help reduce the
risk of child abuse and neglect and increase the well-being of children and
families. These protective factors are positive elements that have positive
effects on children, families, and communities. Common protective factors
include the following:

 Individual Risk Factors— good health, above-average intelligence, positive
peer relationships, hobbies and interests, personality factors

* Family Risk Factors— secure attachment, positive parent-child relationship,
supportive family environment, extended family support, and stable familial
relationships.

e Community Risk Factors— mid-to-high socioeconomic status, access to
health care and social services, adequate housing, good schools available,
mentoring opportunities (or relationships) for youth. 12



Indicators of Abuse & Neglect

Physical
Abuse

Sexual
Abuse

Sexual
Exploitation

Neglect

Emotional
Maltreatment

e Unexplained bruising, lacerations,

¢ Unable to use an arm/bear weight
e Wearing clothing that covers body

Physical Indicators

fractures or burns, human bite
marks, or bald spots

when not appropriate

Difficulty walking or sitting
Bedwetting/soiling

Sexually Transmitted Infections or

early pregnancies

Inappropriate sexual behaviors for

developmental stage

Has multiple cell phones, large
amounts of cash, or prepaid
cards

Name or symbol tattooed,
burned, or branded onto their
body

Referencing traveling to other
cities or states or traveling job
opportunities

Poor hygiene, inappropriate
dress

Consistent lack of supervision
Unattended physical problems
or medical needs

e Delay in physical or emotional

development

¢ Inability to develop emotional

bonds with others

e Social isolation

Behavioral Indicators

Complaining of soreness
Shrinking at the approach of
adults

Reports injury by caregiver

Runs away, attempts suicide
Refusal to be left alone
Significant changes in mood,
behavior, appetite, school
performance

Significant changes in
behavior or associating with
a new group of friends
Refusing to ask for help or
resisting offers to get out of
the situation

Being preoccupied with
“getting money”

Consistent hunger

Poor social skills
Stealing food

Poor school attendance

Inappropriately mature or
inappropriately infantile
Extremes in behavior (i.e. being
overly compliant or
demanding, extremely passive,
or aggressive)

13



Frequently Asked Questions 0

1. Can | be held liable for making a report of child abuse or neglect?

As long as you make a report of child abuse or neglect in good faith you will have
immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, so long as the report is made without
malice or willful misconduct. [16 Del. C. § 908]

2. What if my organization/entity requires me to notify an administrator or other
employee (such as a School Resource Officer (SRO), counselor or nurse) before
making a report to DFS?

In Delaware, we have been very clear that a report must first be made to the DFS
Report Line. Then, the administrator should be notified immediately after. This is
because there have been situations where an administrator has discouraged an
individual from making a report, or has required approval prior to making a report.
Agencies, organizations or entities may be exposed to civil penalties if an
administrator makes a decision not to report on behalf of the individual.

3. Do | satisfy my statutory, child abuse mandatory reporting obligations by only
contacting the law enforcement agency?

No. The statute requires an immediate report to the Division of Family Services
(DFS) Report Line. Law enforcement may also be contacted but not in lieu of
contacting DFS. [16 Del. C. § 904]

4. Am | violating HIPAA when | make a report?
No. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 does not
preclude reporting suspected child abuse.

5. Can | make an anonymous report? Does DFS release the name of the reporter?
No. Professionals licensed by the Department of Professional Regulation and
Department of Education may not report anonymously, as there is no way to verify
that you made a report. As a reminder, DFS does hot release the name of the
reporter. [16 Del. C. § 905]

6. Can information about a DFS investigation be shared?

In general, DFS will share information only when there is a signed release of
information. However, DFS, law enforcement, the Children’s Advocacy Center and
the Department of Justice exchange information on families and children when
there is a shared client and this information is needed to assist an investigation.

14



Frequently Asked Questions e

7. Can | be told any information about the disposition of my report?
DSCYF will make the general disposition of the report available. The reporter
may contact DSCYF to request an update on the report. [16 Del. C. § 903]

8. What if 1 do not have proof that a child is being abused or neglected?

You do not need to have proof, evidence, or a confession of any alleged abuse
or neglect to make a report to the DFS Report Line. You only need knowledge to
reasonably suspect abuse or neglect though physical or behavioral signs of
maltreatment.

9. What are the categories of child abuse and neglect?

Child abuse and neglect is categorized based on the identity of the
perpetrator. The three categories are: intrafamilial, extrafamilial, and
institutional.

 Intrafamilial- Any child abuse or neglect involving a parent, guardian,
custodian, or any other members of the child’'s family or household.

e Extrafamilial- Any child abuse or neglect involving an alleged perpetrator
who is not a member of the child’s family or household AND does not
involve institutional abuse/neglect.

* Institutional- Any child abuse or neglect which has occurred to a child in
the custody of the Department of Services for Children, Youth & Families
(DSCYF) and/or placed in a facility, center or home operated, contracted or
licensed by DSCYF.

10. Should I call the DFS Report Line to report a child that is in crisis??

If you become aware of a child in crisis (i.e. suicide talk or attempts) a report
should be made to the Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services
24-Hour Mobile Response and Stabilization Services at 1-800-969-HELP
(4357). This will ensure that the child is connected to the appropriate services
immediately.

11. Are youth serving in a professional capacity such as a camp counselor
required to make a report?

No, youth who are serving in a professional capacity are not required to make a
report, however any adult who suspects child abuse or neglect, must make a
report to the to the Division of Family Services (DFS) Report Line.

15



Frequently Asked Questions 0

11. How do | tell the difference between physical abuse and accidental injury?

e Cuts and bruises caused from accidents normally occur on bony areas of the
body.

e Reoccurring injuries likely indicate abuse.

 If a series of injuries appear in a pattern or resemble an object, the injury may
have been inflicted.

e If the child’s or caregiver’'s explanation for the injury is inconsistent with the
facts, the injury would be suspicious.

e Suspect abuse if the caregiver delayed in seeking medical attention.

12. What is considered “normal” vs. abusive sexual behavior in children?
Childhood sexual behavior is common and varies based on age and
developmental level.
However, you should call the Report Line for concerns with childhood sexual
behavior that:
e Is clearly beyond the child’s developmental stage (a three-year-old
attempting to kiss an adult’s genitals).
e Involves threats, force, or aggression.
« Involves children of widely different ages or abilities (an 11-year-old
inappropriately touching a four-year-old).

13. Does sexting need to be reported?
Sexting or youth produced sexual images are nude, sexually suggestive, or
explicit images possessed and/or transmitted by way of cell phone, electronic
device or online. The transmission of youth-produced sexual images makes
sexting unlawful. A report must be made to the DFS Report Line when:
e Child did not consent to being photographed or recorded, or
e Cannot consent to the sexual act or to being photographed or recorded due
to his or her age (under 12).
e Youth did not consent to the dissemination or the dissemination is used for an
unlawful purpose (such as sold for profit, or used to harass or intimidate).

14. Are mandated reporters statutorily required to notify DFS of child abuse or
neglect that occurred out of state?

Yes. Delaware’s child abuse mandatory reporting law does not limit the reports of
child abuse or neglect to incidents that occur only within Delaware. The Report
Line will accept calls of child abuse or neglect that may have occurred out of

state. 16



Frequently Asked Questions 0

15. At what age can a child be left alone?

Delaware law does not specify an age when a child may be left alone. For any
aged child, DFS considers factors such as the child’s level of functioning, maturity,
physical and mental health, disabilities, length of time alone, and the time of day.
Mandated reporters must contact the Report Line if they have knowledge or
reasonable suspicion that a child has been left alone for a period of time that is
inappropriate for the child’'s age or developmental status. DFS recommends never
leaving a child alone in a car, regardless of age.

16. What if | already made a report, but the situation has not changed?

If there are new instances you are concerned about, call the DFS Report Line
immediately. If you only have ongoing concerns about the status of your report,
you can call the Report Line and ask for your contact information to be shared
with the assigned worker and request this worker call you back. Please note that
DFS is unable to share information regarding case status or interventions taken.

17. Does the law require a report when an adult discloses abuse or neglect that
happened when they were a child?
Yes, reports about past child abuse or neglect are also required. Reports must be
made even when it is suspected that the alleged offender is deceased, was
chorged/prosecuted, or is unknown, and this information must be corroborated
by the proper authorities. Please also remember:
* Young adults may still be in the custody of DSCYF until the age of 21, so DSCYF
must be notified of these allegations.
* In other situations where one particular victim of abuse or neglect is now an
adult, other children may still be at risk of victimization by the alleged offender.

18. Does this obligation exist if the adult refuses to provide information?
Yes, so long as the information originally provided by the individual creates a
good faith suspicion.

19. Does this obligation exist if the adult provides a vague disclosure (e.g. | was
raped as a child) and no other minimal facts (who, what, when, and where)?
Yes, a report must still be made to the DFS Report Line.

20. Is this requirement limited to sexual abuse since there is no statute of
limitations?
No, all child abuse and neglect must be reported to the DFS Report Line.

17



If you suspect achild is
being abused or
heglected

First, gather the Minimal
Facts, but nothing else
1. What happened?
Q 2. When did it happen?
3. Where did it happen?
4. Who did this to you?

5. Are there any other
victims or withesses?

Then, make the report to the
Division of Family Services
(DFS)
e Call the 24/7 Report Line at
800-292-9582
e OR report online at
iseethesigns.delaware.gov

To learn more, click here to access the Delaware Learning
Center to take CPAC’s 30-minute Minimal Facts Training



https://stateofdelaware.csod.com/LMS/catalog/Welcome.aspx?tab_page_id=-67&tab_id=20000766
https://stateofdelaware.csod.com/LMS/catalog/Welcome.aspx?tab_page_id=-67&tab_id=20000766

Making a Report to the Division of Family Updated Oct 2021
Services Child Abuse and Neglect Report Line

START START
A child discloses abuse or
neglect OR you have seen You suspect neglect or
behavioral and/or physical abuse based on behavioral
signs of abuse or neglect. and/or physical indicators
Ensure the child’'s immediate Ask the minimal fact questions
safety. Ask the minimal fact to gather missing information:
questions to gather missing What happened? When did it
information: What happen? Where did it
happened? When did it happen? Who did this to you?
happen? Where did it
happen? Who did this to you? l

l Child does not disclose
abuse or neglect AND
explanation of indicators is
consistent with accidental
injury, medical condition, or
psychological/social issue

Child discloses abuse OR
injuries are suspicious for
abuse and child doesn't
provide reasonable
explanation

Report not needed,
however, document the
situation

Report to DFS Child Abuse
and Neglect Report Line

Making a report:
All persons with direct knowledge must make an immediate report to the DFS
Report Line
If child's immediate safety is a concern, call 911
Have records for family and child ready, if you have access to them
Share your concerns regarding siblings, domestic violence, substance abuse,
dangerous animals, and weapons with the DFS staff
You will be asked the minimal fact questions and what your concerns are 19




State of Delaware Age of Consent Flowchart

Is the child under the age of 12?

Yes:
Children under the age of 12
cannot consent to any sexual
contact

No:
How old is the minor?

12-15 Years Old:
Children ages 12-15 can
only consent to sexual
contact with someone who
is no more than 4 years
older than they are

16-17 Years Old:
Children ages 16-17 can
only consent to sexual
contact with someone
who is under 30 years
old

Yes:

: 18 Years Old or Older:
Consent cannot be given

Does the person have a
physical, cognitive, or
mental disability that

makes them substantially

No: : :
impaired?

Consent can be given

20



Resources for Parents,
Caregivers, and Families

Legal Resources

Family Court

Community Legal Aid Society,
(CLASI)

Delaware Volunteer Legal
Services (DVLS)

Legal Services Corporation
(Lsc)

Office of Defense Services

Child Support, Custody, &
Child Welfare Resources
Division of Child Support
Services

Family Court: Child Custody
Division of Family Services
(DES)

Report Child Abuse & Neglect

Counseling & Support
Resources

Child Inc. (New Castle County)
People's Place (Kent & Sussex
Counties)

Children and Families First

Delaware Guidance Services
Latin American Community.
Center

Jewish Family Services

Education & Employment
Resources
Parent Information Center of

Delaware

Delaware Department of

Education

Division of Employment &

Training

Division of Vocationadl

Rehabilitation

Jobs for Delaware Graduates

Housing Resources
Delaware State Housing

Authority

Delawdre Housing_Seadrch

Foreclosure Mediation Program

OFFICE OF

THE CHILD
ADYOCATE}

DELAWARE

CHILD PROTECTION ACCOUNTABILITY COMMISSION



https://courts.delaware.gov/family/
http://www.declasi.org/
http://www.declasi.org/
https://www.dvls.org/
https://www.dvls.org/
https://www.lscd.com/
https://www.lscd.com/
https://ods.delaware.gov/
https://dhss.delaware.gov/dcss/
https://dhss.delaware.gov/dcss/
https://courts.delaware.gov/family/custody/
https://kids.delaware.gov/family-services/
https://kids.delaware.gov/family-services/
https://kids.delaware.gov/family-services/child-abuse-and-neglect-reporting/
https://www.childinc.com/
http://www.peoplesplace2.com/
https://www.cffde.org/
https://www.delawareguidance.org/services/
https://www.thelatincenter.org/
https://www.thelatincenter.org/
https://www.jfsdelaware.org/
https://picofdel.org/
https://picofdel.org/
https://www.doe.k12.de.us/
https://www.doe.k12.de.us/
https://labor.delaware.gov/divisions/employment-training/
https://labor.delaware.gov/divisions/employment-training/
https://labor.delaware.gov/divisions/dvr/
https://labor.delaware.gov/divisions/dvr/
https://jobsdegrads.org/
http://www.destatehousing.com/
http://www.destatehousing.com/
https://www.delawarehousingsearch.org/
http://delawarehomeownerrelief.com/mediation.php

