ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 156

This 12th day of May, 2004,

IT APPEARS THAT:

- (1) Pursuant to Administrative Directive No. 124 dated June 20, 2000, an Accounting Policy Committee was appointed to "develop uniform accounting policies for all courts and shall produce an accounting policy manual".
- (2) The Accounting Policy Committee has completed its work and developed a document entitled "Policies for the Management of Non-Appropriated Funds". Prior to submitting this document to the Supreme Court, the Committee circulated a draft of the policy manual to the chief judges, court administrators and financial managers of each court for review and comment. Each court has indicated acceptance of the policy statements as set forth in the policy manual.
- (3) It is desirable to adopt the Policies for the Management of Non-Appropriated Funds in the form attached hereto.

NOW, THEREFORE IT IS DIRECTED, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court, pursuant to Del. Const. Art. IV, § 13 (1), that:

- (A) The Policies for the Management of Non-Appropriated Funds are hereby adopted in the form attached hereto and shall be adhered to by all courts. However, it is duly noted that the Committee predicated its work on the future existence of a court-wide automated financial management and case management system otherwise known as COTS (Commercial Off the Shelf). The development of the COTS system is currently on schedule, but will take time to reach fruition. In light of this reality, all courts are directed to comply with the policies enumerated in this manual where the use of an automated financial management system is not a requirement. When the COTS system is available, all courts are directed to comply with all aspects of all policies.
- (B) The next phase of the development of financial standards for all of the courts is the establishment of procedures to implement the policies in the attached manual. An Accounting Procedures Committee, consisting of representatives from all courts, is hereby appointed and shall initially consist of the following persons and such other persons as the Chief Justice shall determine from time to time:

Debra Veenema, Chair Stephen D. Taylor Ramona Monsen Roger Kling Karen Disch Lynn Deramo-Durr Mario Spitelli Gerri Dow Mike vonReider William DiBartola

- (C) The Committee shall meet regularly and frequently, at least once a month, at the discretion of the Chair to develop standard procedures to implement the policy manual for all courts.
- (D) In developing the procedures, the Committee shall consult with all the courts and seek the input of the chief judge, the court administrator and the ranking fiscal officer of each court and judicial agency.
- (E) The Committee's work must be undertaken in conjuncture with the current development of the COTS system. The Committee is not to advocate any procedure that cannot be supported by the COTS case and financial management system.
- (F) All members of the Judiciary and non-judicial employees of the Delaware court system are directed to cooperate with the Committee by supplying information and supporting its efforts.
- (G) The Committee shall render its draft procedures manual by June 1, 2005, and its final procedures manual by December 31, 2005.

BY THE COURT:

E. Norman Veasey Chief Justice

Attachment

cc: The Honorable Ruth Ann Minner
The Honorable Randy J. Holland
The Honorable Carolyn Berger
The Honorable Myron T. Steele
The Honorable Jack B. Jacobs
Members of the Judicial Conference
The Honorable M. Jane Brady

The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan State Court Administrator Court Administrators Clerk of the Supreme Court Counsel to the Governor Chair, Senate Judiciary Committee Chair, House Judiciary Committee