ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 109

This 26th day of July, 1996,

IT APPEARS THAT:

(1) Most citizens of Delaware at one time or another are likely to contact with the Delaware judicial system, and that contact could come important and critical time in their lives.

(2) A survey conducted by the Delaware Task Force on Racial and Ethnic Fairness in the Courts (which Task Force was established by Administrative Directive Number 101, dated April 5, 1995), indicated that significant percentages of the respondents believed that:

(a) Improvement was needed in the court system to assure fairness;

(b) The area of improvement most needed in the court system is public information about the courts; and

(c) Many citizens lack an understanding of basic principles of our legal system, such as the presumption of innocence and protection from double jeopardy in criminal proceedings.

(3) It is important that the citizens of Delaware understand how the judicial system functions, the role which the judicial system plays in our society, and the significant contributions of the Judicial Branch of government in Delaware to the economic interests of the State.

(4) It is necessary to inform the public of the programs and services which are available to those who come into contact with the judicial system.

(5) It is necessary to identify the resources which are available in the judicial system to serve the needs of the public and Delaware, and to identify those resources which are needed to serve more effectively the citizens and the interests of Delaware.

(6) It is also necessary for the Judicial Branch of government to receive input from the public on appropriate methods for improving the quality of service provided by the courts.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS DIRECTED, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court, pursuant to Delaware Constitution, art. IV, § 13(1), that:

(A) A Task Force is hereby created, entitled the Delaware Task Force on Citizen Involvement in the Judicial System (the "Task Force") to promote among the members of the public a better understanding of the judicial system and to provide input to the Judicial Branch of government in Delaware.

(B) The scope of the Task Force work shall include, but not be limited to the following:

(1) The establishment of a public outreach program;

(2) The preparation of materials for public distribution identifying the programs and services available to members of the public who come into contact with the judicial system;

(3) Identification of currently available resources and resources required for the judicial system to serve effectively the needs of the public and the interests of Delaware;

(4) Obtain input from the public on appropriate methods for improving the quality of service provided by the courts; and

(5) The preparation and submission of a report covering the work of the Task Force.

(C) The following persons, who have agreed to serve, are hereby appointed to the Task Force:

F. Michael Parkowski, Esquire, Chair The Honorable Peggy L. Ableman Ms. Peggy G. Bradley Ms. Tammy Brittingham Mr. John E. Burns Lydia Swanson Cox, Esquire Dr. William B. DeLauder Mr. Thomas Draper Pierre S. duPont, IV, Esquire Mr. Michael Ferguson The Honorable Karen L. Johnson Mr. Michael E. McLaughlin Charles M. Oberly, III, Esquire Mr. Robert W. Perkins Michael J. Rich, Esquire Mr. W. Curtis Riddle The Honorable Henry duPont Ridgely Judith A. Schuenemeyer, Esquire Professor James R. Soles A. Gilchrist Sparks, III, Esquire Tempe B. Steen, Esquire David B. Stratton, Esquire

(D) A preliminary report detailing the work and the recommendations of the Task Force shall be submitted by the Task Force to the Chief Justice on or before April 1, 1997.

(E) The preliminary report shall be made public and there shall be adequate opportunity for the public to comment on the preliminary report.

DELAWARE SUPREME COURT

(F) A final report shall thereafter be submitted by the Task Force to the Chief Justice on or before July 1, 1997.

E. Norman Veasey CHIEF JUSTICE

cc: The Honorable Joseph T. Walsh The Honorable Randy J. Holland The Honorable Maurice A. Hartnett, III The Honorable Carolyn Berger Members of Judicial Conference Mr. Lowell L. Groundland Court Administrators Clerk of Supreme Court