## REVISED ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 156

This 8<sup>th</sup> day of October 2004,

IT APPEARS THAT:

(1) Pursuant to Administrative Directive No. 124 dated June 20, 2000, an Accounting Policy Committee was appointed to "develop uniform accounting policies for all courts and shall produce an accounting policy manual".

(2) The Accounting Policy Committee has completed its work and developed a document entitled "Policies for the Management of Non-Appropriated Funds". Before submitting this document to the Supreme Court, the Committee circulated a draft of the policy manual to the chief judges, court administrators and financial managers of each court for review and comment. Each court has indicated acceptance of the policy statements as set forth in the policy manual.

(3) It is desirable to adopt the Policies for the Management of Non-Appropriated Funds in the form attached hereto.

NOW, THEREFORE IT IS DIRECTED, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court, pursuant to Del. Const. Art. IV, § 13 (1), that:

(A) The Policies for the Management of Non-Appropriated Funds are hereby adopted in the manual attached hereto and shall be adhered to by all courts. It is duly noted, however, that the Committee predicated its work on the future existence of a courtwide automated financial management and case management system otherwise known as COTS (Commercial-Off-the-Shelf). The development of the COTS system is currently on schedule, but will take time to reach fruition. In light of this reality, all courts are directed to comply with the policies enumerated in this manual where the use of an automated financial management system is not a requirement. When the COTS system is available, all courts are directed to comply with those policies in all respects.

(B) The next phase of the development of financial standards for all the courts to establish procedures to implement the policies in the attached manual. An Accounting Procedures Committee, consisting of representatives from all courts, the Administrative Office of the Courts, and the Office State Collections Enforcement are hereby appointed and shall initially consist of the following persons and such other persons as the Chief Justice shall determine from time to time. No further Administrative Directive will be issued by the Chief Justice to change the membership of the Committee:

> Debra Veenema, Chair Stephen D. Taylor Ramona Monsen Sandy Autman Karen Disch Lynn Deramo-Durr Paulette Hopkins Gerri Dow Mike vonReider William DiBartola

(C) The Committee shall meet regularly and at least once a month, at the discretion of the Chair to develop standard procedures to implement the policy manual for all courts.

(D) In developing the procedures, the Committee shall consult with all the courts and seek the input of the chief judge, the court administrator and the ranking fiscal officer of each court and judicial agency.

(E) The Committee's work must be undertaken in conjunction with the current development of the COTS system. The Committee shall not advocate any procedure that cannot be supported by the COTS case and financial management system.

2

(F) All members of the Judiciary and non-judicial employees of the Delaware court system are directed to cooperate with the Committee by supplying information and supporting its efforts, as and when requested.

(G) The Committee shall render its draft procedures manual by June 1, 2005, and its final procedures manual by December 31, 2005.

BY THE COURT:

Chief Justice Myron T. Steele

Attachment

c: The Honorable Ruth Ann Minner The Honorable Randy J. Holland The Honorable Carolyn Berger The Honorable Jack B. Jacobs The Honorable Henry duPont Ridgely Members of the Judicial Conference The Honorable M. Jane Brady The Honorable Lawrence Sullivan State Court Administrator Court Administrators Clerk of the Supreme Court Counsel to the Governor Chair Senate Judiciary Committee Chair House Judiciary Committee