Answer: The next Delaware Bar Examination will be administered on in person on July 25-26, 2023 at the Bob Carpenter Center, 631 S College Ave, Newark, Delaware.
The February 2024 Bar Examination will be administered on February 27-28, 2024.
Answer: The Delaware Bar Examination is two full days. Tuesday consists of 4 Delaware essay questions and the MPT. Wednesday consists of the MBE. The exam schedule is 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on both days.
Answer: The essay questions are designed to test your ability to:
Answer: Yes. To be admitted to the Delaware Bar, each applicant must take and pass the Delaware Bar Examination, complete the Clerkship and Clerkship Checklist, and demonstrate their character and fitness to practice law. There are no different procedures for persons admitted in other jurisdictions.
Answer: The MPRE is required in Delaware, and a scaled score of 85 is passing. Applicants must ensure that the NCBE reports their score to Delaware. Please refer to Board Rule 8 for the time periods in which the MPRE must be completed.
|Exam/Deadline||Law School Graduate||Attorney|
|July 2023 exam|
|early filing deadline April 18, 2023||$700||$800|
|final filing deadline May 2, 2023||$900||$1,000|
|February 2024 exam|
|early filing deadline Nov. 7, 2023||$700||$800|
|final filing deadline Dec. 5, 2023||$900||$1,000|
Answer: The Application to sit for the Delaware Bar Examination is electronic and located on the Board's website. All required documents and information must be uploaded with the Application in PDF format except the photo. Refer to the Application instructions for a complete list of what must be filed with the Application. The NCBE Character and Fitness Application is available from the NCBE website.
Answer: Yes. All applicants, including Rule 55 applicants, must be fingerprinted and submit State of Delaware and federal criminal background checks. Instructions for obtaining these reports are on the Board's website.
Answer: You are urged to submit all background check requests to the federal and Delaware state bureaus of investigation as soon as possible, as the completed checks must be uploaded not later than September 1 for applicants who take the bar examination in July and April 1 for applicants who take the bar examination in February. It can often take 90 days or more to receive your background checks. Character and fitness investigations will not be conducted for applicants who have not submitted these reports.
Answer: Investigations are conducted for passing Applicants only. Once the exam results are posted, the investigations will begin. Each passing applicant will be assigned to a Board member who will investigate your application. The investigation includes a personal interview.
Answer: Determinations are on a case-by-case basis. The Board will look at the overall picture of an applicant's background and situation. The Board does not issue advisory opinions on whether an applicant may be unable to demonstrate character and fitness. Determinations are only made after the investigation is complete. Please refer to Character and Fitness Guidelines under Resources tab.
Answer: Applications for testing accommodations, with all documentation you are relying upon to support the accommodations requested, must be filed on or before the early filing deadline. Applications for administrative accommodations are due on or before the final filing deadline.
Answer: You should select a preceptor as soon in your admission process as possible, but you must identify your preceptor no later than September 1/April 1. Because your preceptor is obligated to review your application, selecting a preceptor early is beneficial to both the applicant and the preceptor.
Answer: A preceptor can be any Delaware lawyer qualified under Board Rules 9 and 10 and Supreme Court Rule 52. Often, candidates select preceptors from firms by whom they have been employed or other lawyers or judges for whom they worked or clerked. If you do not know any Delaware lawyers who satisfy the applicable requirements, you can contact the Preceptor Bank to have one assigned. The Preceptor Bank information is located under Resources tab What To Do if You Can't Find a Preceptor on website.
Answer: You have until December 31 of the year following the year in which you pass the Bar Examination If you need extra time due to extenuating circumstances, you may file a Petition for an Extension of Time under Board Rule 53.
Answer: The Clerkship consists substantially full-time service for at least 12 weeks’ duration, which period need not be continuous but which may not begin prior to matriculation at a law school described in Supreme Court Rule 52(a)(5). A week means a forty-hour work week. The Clerkship must be completed in Delaware, under the supervision of a Delaware attorney. Each applicant must also complete a Clerkship Checklist. The Clerkship Checklist is available on the Board's website. Both the Clerkship and Clerkship Checklist must be satisfactorily completed before an applicant can be admitted to the Bar.
Answer: Yes. The pre-admission conference is mandatory for all passing applicants. The conference is a session of the Court and attendance is a prerequisite to admission. Attendance at the pre-admission conference is mandatory for anyone who passed the immediately preceding administration of the Bar Exam regardless of whether you intend to be admitted at the December admission ceremony. Professional attire is required.
Answer: There is an Admission Ceremony every December and June for Applicants who have met all the admission requirements. Additional ceremonies are held throughout the year. Ceremonies are scheduled in accordance with the Court's calendar and only a Supreme Court Justice can swear in an Applicant.
Answer: Your admission to the bar may be moved by any Delaware attorney in good standing.
Answer: Yes, all Applicants for limited admission under Rule 55, or any subpart thereof, will undergo a character and fitness evaluation. This includes being required to submit to federal and State of Delaware background checks. Instructions for submitting to those checks can be found on the Board's website. Both checks must be received by the Board before your application can be approved. It can take up to 90 days or longer for agencies to complete background checks.
Board of Bar Examiners of the Supreme Court of Delaware
The Renaissance Centre
405 North King Street, Suite 500
Wilmington, DE 19801