Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Winter 2008


With more than 60 percent of the nation’s Fortune 500 companies incorporated in Delaware, Delaware’s Supreme Court, Court of Chancery and Superior Court have long been recognized as model forums for corporate and commercial cases, providing an efficient and sophisticated resolution of such disputes. Due to its preeminence in these areas, Delaware was chosen to host a recent Mid-Atlantic regional meeting of the Conference of Chief Justices designed to explore the benefits and requirements of specialized business courts. The conference, entitled Business Courts – What Works Best, was held October 27-28, 2008 at the University of Delaware and was co-sponsored by the Delaware Supreme Court, the Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance of the University of Delaware and the National Center for State Courts.

Designed to assist jurisdictions considering establishing or improving a business court, topics covered included the appropriate scope of business court jurisdiction, factors that make a business court work well, the use of alternative dispute resolution in business courts, performance standards for business courts, and how jurisdictions can proceed in setting up business courts.

Several members of the Delaware Judiciary joined jurists from other states and attorneys prominent in the corporate and commercial spheres as speakers or panelists. Chief Justice Myron T. Steele of the Delaware Supreme Court, along with Professor Charles Elson, Director of the John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance of the University of Delaware, spoke at the opening dinner on the importance of handling business litigation well. In addition, Justice Randy J. Holland of the Supreme Court as well as Chancellor William B. Chandler III and Vice Chancellor Donald Parsons of the Court of Chancery, were featured participants.