Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Summer 2010


Chief Justice Myron T. Steele recently joined the Board of Directors of the National Center for State Courts, a nonprofit organization that aims to improve administration of justice through leadership and service to the nation's state courts.  He will serve a four year term on the Board.  In addition, he was elected Vice-President of the Conference of Chief Justices (CCJ), an organization established to provide an opportunity for the highest judicial officers of the states to meet to focus on improvements to key matters in the administration of justice, court rules and procedures, and the organization and operation of state judicial systems.  As Vice-President, Chief Justice Steele is anticipated to assume the position of President of the CCJ in August 2012.

Justice Randy J. Holland of the Delaware Supreme Court is one of the coauthors of a new law school textbook. The title is State Constitutional Law, The Modern Experience. It is published by West Company as part of the American Casebook Series. The focus of this book is on the fifty state constitutions with an emphasis on the interrelation between state constitutions and the federal Constitution.

Judge Jan R. Jurden of the Superior Court coauthored "The Assault on Judicial Independence and the Uniquely Delaware Response," Penn State Law Review, Vol. 14. No. 1, 2009.

The Delaware courts, with emphasis on the Superior Court, were ranked number one for the eighth year in a row by the Harris State Liability Systems Ranking Study for the U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform for doing the best job of "having a litigation environment perceived to be fair and reasonable in its handling of civil cases."

Superior Court welcomed Judge Diane Clarke Streett to the bench on February 15, 2010. Prior to joining the bench, Judge Streett was the Register of Wills for New Castle County. She is a graduate of Cornell University Law School.

The Court of Common Pleas welcomed Judge Eric M. Davis to the bench on April 14, 2010. Judge Davis is a graduate of the University of Virginia and Emory Law School. He was previously with the Wilmington office of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP where he focused primarily on bankruptcy and corporate reorganizations and was in charge of pro bono matters for the office.

The Family Court welcomed Susan P. Tussey as a commissioner on July 30, 2010. Commissioner Tussey was formerly with the Delaware Department of Justice and is a graduate of the University of Delaware and the Widener University School of Law.

Judge Dianne Clarke Street is sworn in by Chief Justice Myron T. Steele

Chief Justice Myron T. Steele swears in Judge Dianne Clarke Streett, with her daughter, Courtney.

Judge Eric M. Davis is sworn in by Judge Christopher S. Sontchi
U.S. Bankruptcy Court Judge Christopher S. Sontchi swears in Judge Eric M. Davis, with his wife, Lisa.