Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Summer 2006


Photo of 2005 Employee of the Year accepting award.l
Elizabeth Jonkiert receiving the Judicial Branch Employee of the Year Award from Chief Justice Steele.

     Chief Justice Myron T. Steele of the Delaware Supreme Court has announced the selection of Elizabeth Jonkiert, the Employee of the Year for the Court of Common Pleas, as the overall Delaware Judicial Branch Employee of the Year for 2005.

     Ms. Jonkiert received her award, including a plaque, savings bond, day off certificate and a personal gift, from the Chief Justice at the Court of Common Pleas Employee Recognition luncheon on May 12, 2006. She is a Management Analyst with the Court of Common Pleas and was selected for the outstanding contributions that she has made to the Court of Common Pleas and to the Judicial Branch as a whole. She has served in the Delaware Judiciary for almost 30 years and has become an expert in all aspects of criminal case flow, scheduling, calendaring, and statistics for the Court. In addition, she has served on numerous committees and is a respected resource for organizations throughout the criminal justice community.

     Most recently, Ms. Jonkiert has been appointed as the lead representative of the Court of Common Pleas to the COTS project, which is the new integrated civil, criminal and financial case management system under development by the Judicial Branch.

     Ms. Jonkiert is a native Delawarean and a resident of New Castle County. She was nominated by her colleagues in the Court of Common Pleas who noted her dedication, quality of her work, long hours spent at the job, and her willingness to go the extra mile quietly and without fanfare.

Other nominees were:

  • Shawn E. Lavallee - Superior Court’s Employee of the Year. Mr. Lavallee is a case processing supervisor in the New Castle County Prothonotary’s Office. His nominator praised his outstanding initiative and ability to foster excellent work from those he supervises.
  • Ronald W. Mattox - Family Court’s Employee of the Year. Mr. Mattox is a judicial assistant in the Family Court and was recognized for the manner in which he maintains security and courtroom coverage during staff shortages, as well as his professionalism and commitment to staff.
  • Dwight D. Dillard – Justice of the Peace Court’s Employee of the Year. Mr. Dillard, who is a judicial case processor at JP Court 7, was nominated for his professionalism, remarkable people skills and “can do” attitude.
  • Sarah Lubin – Administrative Office of the Courts Employee of the Year. Ms. Lubin, Operations Policy Coordinator for the AOC, was recognized for her initiative and tremendous dedication to providing quality support services.

     Each of these employees were recognized at their Courts’ Employee Recognition luncheons.