Face masks required at all Delaware state court facilities starting August 16, 2021.

Judicial Branch announces lifting of collections moratorium effective immediately. More information.

Delaware Docket Newsletter
Spring 2011


Chief Justice Myron T. Steele, Justice Randy J. Holland, Justice Carolyn Berger, Justice Jack B. Jacobs and Justice Henry duPont Ridgely of the Delaware Supreme Court were recently named as thirteenth on Ethisphere magazine's list of the 100 most influential persons in business ethics for 2011. The list was compiled to honor leaders in business ethics throughout the world and was compiled by an advisory panel composed of experts from major universities and institutions. The members of the Delaware Supreme Court were named for their impact in U.S. corporate law during 2010.

The Delaware Supreme Court and Delaware Court of Chancery were recognized by Directorship Magazine as being in the top 100 in corporate governance matters. The magazine referred to the Court of Chancery as "the most important business court in the land, by far."

Chief Justice Myron T. Steele was reappointed to the Federal Judicial Conference Committee on Federal-State Jurisdiction for a second two year term effective October 1, 2010. The Committee, which has fifteen members, including eleven federal judges and four state Supreme Court justices, has responsibility for reviewing legislation and other proposals that could affect federal court jurisdiction. It may also initiate action and recommend statutory changes concerning federal jurisdiction to the Federal Judicial Conference. The Committee also serves as a conduit for communication on matters of mutual concern between the federal judiciary and the state courts.

Justice Randy J. Holland

Justice Randy J. Holland receiving the award from Dwight D. Opperman, former chairman and CEO of West Publishing Company, who currently serves on the American Judicature Society Board of Directors as a Distinguished Lifetime Director, on March 16, 2011.

Supreme Court Justice Randy J. Holland received the Seventh Annual Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence from the American Judicature Society in January 2011, The Opperman Award was created by the AJS to honor state trial and appellate judges for distinguished judicial service. Indiana Chief Justice Randall T. Shepard, chair of the selection panel said "Randy Holland is an icon among American lawyers and judges, and the nation is a more decent place because of his commitment to the cause of justice. Justice Holland's career has been a special gift to those of us in the legal profession for whom he has been a genuine inspiration."

Justice Holland swearing in

On March 27, 2011, Justice Randy J. Holland was sworn in for an unprecedented third term on the Delaware Supreme Court.  The oath of office on that historic occasion was administered by all of the other members of the Supreme Court:  Chief Justice Myron T. Steele, Justice Carolyn Berger; Justice Jack B. Jacobs; and Justice Henry duPont Ridgely.  The family Bible was held by Justice Holland's wife, Dr. Ilona E. Holland.

Supreme Court Justice Carolyn Berger was selected as one of 24 accomplished women lawyers and judges to participate in the 2011 DirectWomen Board Institute, a program designed to identify and promote qualified women lawyers for future service on corporate boards of public companies.

Supreme Court Justice Jack Jacobs recently co-authored an article with Professors John Armour and Curtis Milhaupt (of Oxford and Columbia Law School, respectively). The article, entitled "The Evolution of Hostile Takeover Regimes in Developed and Emerging Markets: An Analytical Framework," was published in the Harvard Journal of International Law.

Justice Henry duPont Ridgely

World Legal Forum's Roundtable participants included (from left to right) Justice Henry duPont Ridgely; Chairman Jan Eljsbouts of the World Legal Forum Board; Lord Harry Woolfe, former Chief Justice of England and Wales; and Jeffrey Golden, visiting professor of law at the London School of Economics and Political Science and Past Chair of the American Bar Association's Section of International Law.

Supreme Court Justice Henry duPont Ridgely participated in a roundtable sponsored by the World Legal Forum to discuss the establishment of an international dispute resolution facility for the financial markets. As a result of the roundtable, there was a consensus that a private tribunal for the voluntary mediation or arbitration of complex international financial disputes, particularly those resulting from complex financial products such as derivatives, should be established in The Hague in 2011.

Superior Court Judge William C. Carpenter Jr. was elected Vice-Chair of the National Conference of State Trial Judges. The Conference is part of the American Bar Association Judicial Division and is the oldest and largest organization of trial judges in the country. It is expected that Judge Carpenter will become Chair of the National Conference in August 2012. In addition, Judge Carpenter will serve as co-chair of the Judicial Division Membership Committee which serves nearly 4000 judicial members. In addition, Judge Carpenter serves on the Executive Committee of the Section Officers Conference of the ABA and as Chair of the Judicial Division Membership Committee.

Superior Court Judge Joseph R. Slights III has been appointed to two American Judicature Society Committees: Carpenter Jury Center Advisory and Editorial. The American Judicature Society is an independent, national, nonpartisan organization of judges, lawyers, and other members of the public who seek to improve the justice system. Its mission is to secure and promote an independent and qualified judiciary and fair system of justice. Judge Slights was also elected as an American Law Institute member. The American Law Institute has been the leading independent organization in the U.S. for 85 years producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law. Judge Slights also served on two panels at the 7th Annual Advanced e-Discovery Institute in Arlington, Virginia.

Superor Court Judge William L. Witham, Jr.

Superior Court Judge William L. Witham, Jr. received the Silver Good Citizenship Award from the Caesar Rodney Chapter of the Delaware Society, Sons of the American Revolution at the Annual Constitution Day. Judge Witham was also the featured speaker at the event and discussed the importance of the Declaration of Independence in the shaping of the United States Constitution.

Judge William L. Witham, Jr.
receiving his Silver Good Citizenship
Award on September 18, 2010.


Justice of the Peace Ernst M. Arndt was named Honorary Wing Commander for the 436th JAG Corp.