IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

FIRST STATE ORTHOPAEDICS,
P.A., on behalf of itself and all others
similarly situated,

Plaintiff,

V. C.A. No. N15C-12-054 WCC CCLD

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE
COMPANY, ET AL,,

Defendants.

N N N N N N N N N N N’ N’

Submitted: April 3, 2019
Decided: August 6, 2019

Plaintiff’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on the Meaning of Sections
2362(b) and 2322F(h) - GRANTED IN PART - DENIED IN PART

Defendants’ Cross-Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on the Meaning of
Sections 2362(b) and 2322F(h) - GRANTED IN PART — DENIED IN PART

MEMORANDUM OPINION

John S. Spadaro, Esquire (Argued); John Sheehan Spadaro LLC, 54 Liborio Lane,
Smyrna, DE 19977. Attorney for Plaintiff.

Kevin J. Connors, Esquire; Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin, 1007
North Orange Street, Suite 600, Wilmington, DE 19801. Attorney for Defendants.

Tiffany Powers, Esquire (Argued); Andrew Hatchett, Esquire; Alston & Bird LLP,
1201 West Peachtree Street, Atlanta, GA 30309. Attorneys for Defendants.

CARPENTER, J.



Before the Court is Plaintiff First State Orthopaedics, P.A.’s (“First State” or
“Plaintiff”) Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on the meaning of 19 Del. C. §§
2362(b) and 2322F(h), as well as the Defendant Insurers’ (“Insurers” or
“Defendants”) Cross-Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on the same statutory
provisions. For the reasons set forth in this Opinion, Plaintiff’s Motion for Partial
Summary Judgment is GRANTED IN PART AND DENIED IN PART and
Defendants’ Cross-Motion is GRANTED IN PART AND DENIED IN PART.

L. FACTUAL & PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On April 3, 2017, First State filed an amended proposed class action
Complaint against insurer-members of the Liberty Mutual Group of insurance
companies, seeking recovery of statutory interest allegedly owed under 19 Del. C. §
2322F(h) of the Delaware Workers’ Compensation Act.! Plaintiff brought suit on
behalf of all Delaware health care providers who, at any time since December 4,
2012, submitted health care invoices to one or more Defendants for care provided to
Delaware workers’ compensation claimants where: (i) the invoiced Defendant failed
to contest the sufficiency of the invoice’s “data elements” within 30 days of receipt,
(ii) though ultimately paid by the invoiced Defendant, the invoice was paid only after
the expiration of the 30-day period under section 2322F(h), and (iii) the invoiced

Defendant’s payment of the invoice was unaccompanied by the statutory interest

I See Am. Compl. 9 1, 10-11.



provided under 2322F(h).2 Essentially, First State is attacking the Insurers’ alleged
practice of generally refusing to pay the 1% interest on unpaid invoices as mandated
by § 2322F(h), a claim denied by the Defendants.

A. 19 Del. C. Sections 2362(b) and 2322F (h)

Section 2362(b) states that “[a]ll medical expenses shall be paid within 30
days after bills and documentation for said expenses are received by the employer
or its insurance carrier for payment, unless the carrier or self-insured employer
notifies claimant or the claimant’s attorney in writing that said expenses are
contested or that further verification is required.”® Meanwhile, Section 2322F(h)
provides:

An employer or insurance carrier shall be required
to pay a health care invoice within 30 days of receipt
of the invoice as long as the claim contains
substantially all the required data elements
necessary to adjudicate the invoice, unless the
invoice is contested in good faith. If the contested
invoice pertains to an acknowledged compensable
claim and the denial is based upon compliance with
the health care payment system and/or health care
practice guidelines, it shall be referred to utilization
review. Any such referral to utilization review shall
be made within 15 days of denial. Unpaid invoices
shall incur interest at a rate of 1% per month
payable to the provider. A provider shall not hold
an employee liable for costs related to nondisputed
services for a compensable injury and shall not bill
or attempt to recover from the employee the

21d 2.
319 Del. C. § 2362(b).



difference between the provider’s charge and the
amount paid by the employer or insurance carrier on
a compensable injury.*
B. The Instant Motion
On June 18, 2018, Plaintiff filed the instant Motion for Partial Summary
Judgment regarding the meaning and effect of the two statutory provisions at issue.
First State argues that, under §§ 2362(b) and 2322F(h), “if a covered invoice —
meaning, for the purposes here, an invoice that is ultimately paid (or covered) in
whole or in part — is not paid within the 30-day window, it is an “unpaid” invoice
for which statutory interest accrues.” Plaintiff further contends that there is no
“good faith” exception to the statutory interest provision set out in § 2322F(h).6
Thus, according to First State, even if a workers’ compensation claim is timely
denied in “good faith” but eventually gets paid outside the 30-day window, statutory
interest for that invoice began to accumulate on the thirty-first day after the Insurers
initially received it.’”
In response, Defendants filed a Cross-Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

regarding its interpretation of the two statutes. The Insurers contend that §§ 2362(b)

and 2322F(h) “by their plain terms, confirm that interest is mof owed under

419 Del. C. § 2322F(h) (emphasis added).

3 P1.’s Opening Br. Mot. for Partial Summ. J. at 4.
6 See id. at 7-11.

7 See Mot. for Partial Summ J. Hr’g Tr. at 13, 20.
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circumstances where an insurer, within 30 days of receiving the invoice, either (i)
contests the invoice in good faith, or (ii) requests further verification to support the
charge.”® According to Defendants, “if an insurance carrier has a good-faith basis to
deny coverage for the invoice or request additional documentary support, no
statutory interest is owed until 30 days after the provider submits the documentation
necessary to validate the charge™ or its denial has been overturned by the Industrial
Accident Board (“the Board”).

The Court heard oral arguments on Plaintiff and Defendants’ Cross-Motions
for Partial Summary Judgment on §§ 2362(b) and 2322F(h), and it reserved decision.
This is the Court’s decision on the Motions.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

In reviewing a motion for summary judgment pursuant to Superior Court Civil
Rule 56, the Court must determine whether any genuine issues of material fact
exist.!® The moving party bears the burden of showing that there are no genuine
issues of material fact, such that he or she is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.!!
The Court must view all factual inferences in a light most favorable to the non-

moving party.'> Where it appears that there is a material fact in dispute or that further

8 Defs.” Opp’n Br. Mot. for Partial Summ. J. at 3.

°Id at11.

10 Super. Ct. Civ. R. 56(c); see also Wilm. Tru. Co. v. Aetna, 690 A.2d 914, 916 (Del. 1996).
1 See Moore v. Sizemore, 405 A.2d 679 (Del. 1979).

12 See Alabi v. DHL Airways, Inc., 583 A.2d 1358, 1361 (Del. 1990).
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inquiry into the facts would be appropriate, summary judgment will not be granted.!?
Additionally, “the standard for summary judgment ‘is not altered’” with cross-
motions for summary judgment.'
III. DISCUSSION
In Delaware, the rules of statutory interpretation are well settled.!> The Court
should “ascertain and give effect to the intent of the legislators, as expressed in the
statute.”'® First, it must be determined if the statutory provision at issue is
ambiguous.!” “A statute is ambiguous if it is reasonably susceptible of two
interpretations. If it is unambiguous, no statutory construction is required, and the
words in the statute are given their plain meaning.”'® When a statute is ambiguous:
[Elach part or section [of a statute] should be read
in light of every other part or section to produce an
harmonious whole. Undefined words in a statute
must be given their ordinary, common meaning.
Additionally, words in a statute should not be
construed as surplusage if there is a reasonable
construction which will give them meaning, and

courts must ascribe a purpose to the use of statutory
language, if reasonably possible.!

13 See Ebersole v. Lowengrub, 180 A.2d 467, 470 (Del. Super. Ct. 1962), rev'd in part on
procedural grounds and aff’d in part, 208 A.2d 495 (Del. 1965).

Y% Total Care Physicians, P.A. v. O’Hara, 798 A.2d 1043, 1050 (Del. Super. Ct. 2001) (citing
United Vanguard Fund, Inc. v. TakeCare, Inc., 693 A.2d 1076, 1079 (Del. 1997)).

15 Dewey Beach Enters., Inc. v. Bd. of Adjustment of Town of Dewey Beach, 1 A.3d 305, 307
(Del. 2010).

16 Id_ (citing Chase Alexa, LLC v. Kent County Levy Court, 991 A.2d 1148, 1151 (Del. 2010)).
17

s 1

19 Id. at 307-08 (quoting Oceanport Indus., Inc., v. Wilmington Stevedores, Inc., 636 A.2d 892,
900 (Del. 1994)).



Although the Court believes these sections of the Delaware Code could have
been written with more precision and clarity, it does not find the provisions to be in
conflict nor are they ambiguous to the point of requiring findings outside of what is
stated in the statutes. There is really no dispute that the legislature, in enacting the
statutes, intended to place a time limit on the payment of health care provider
invoices and to institute a minor penalty when they are not paid timely. The
legislature also realized that not every invoice submitted by a provider would be
done so with clarity and precision, and thus provided the Insurer a mechanism to
avoid the interest penalty. As such, under § 2362(b), if the Insurer contests the
invoice or requests further verification, the time for payment and any associated
penalty would in essence be stayed until the issue was resolved.

Plaintiff argues that, while it recognizes the Insurers’ ability to contest an
invoice, the penalty provision set forth in § 2322F(h) has no relationship to the
reason an invoice may go unpaid. From First State’s perspective, the statutes require
interest to begin to run on the thirty-first day after receipt of an invoice by the
insurance company, even if this would at times result in potential unfairness.
Plaintiff argues that the Insurers are certainly free to contest the invoice, but it
remains “unpaid,” and the interest portion of the statute would begin accruing at that
time. While such an interpretation would establish a clear bright-line and perhaps

avoid some confusion as to when interest would accrue, it would also result in a



situation the Court finds was not intended by the legislature. So, the question
remains: when do interest penalties begin to run?

A. Additional Information

The initial part of the statute requires the insurance company to pay an invoice
within thirty days of receipt of that invoice as long as the claim contains
substantially all the required data elements necessary to adjudicate the invoice.
Logically, if the claim information is deficient, this would delay the 30-day clock,
as the insurance company is presumably unable to process the claim due to a lack of
information from the provider. As such, the invoice is not in an “unpaid” status at
that time as “all the requirement data elements necessary to adjudicate the invoice”
are not present. However, once the information requested is provided to the
insurance company, the clock begins to run again, and unless further information is
demanded or the claim is denied, interest would again become due on the thirty-first
day after the provider submitted the requested information.

B. Good Faith Denial

The good faith denial situation, however, is different, as it assumes that the
insurance company has received all of the information it needs to process an invoice
and make a decision. So, the only basis for denying a claim is that the insurer
believes the information provided does not justify payment. As long as the invoice

remains in a disputed classification, no payment is required. However, the issue that



remains is what interest is due if the Board subsequently finds that an insurance
company’s denial was not justified and orders payment. When this occurs, the Court
finds that the interest calculation relates back to the thirty-first day after the invoice
was initially received by the insurer. The Board’s decision to order payment
essentially suggests that the insurance company did not have a good faith basis to
deny the claim. So, logically, Plaintiff should not be penalized in that situation, and
the interest rate must fairly return to the date the insurance company was required to
pay the claim. Obviously, if the Board decided the claim was appropriately denied,
no payment would be required and no interest would accrue.

If the statutes were not interpreted in this fashion, it would give the Insurers a
limitless ability to deny payments and experience no penalty if their denial was later
found to be invalid. Clearly, the legislature intended some adverse consequence for
the inappropriate denial of benefits in a timely manner, and only interpreting the
statute in the manner the Court has done above would result in the penalty
contemplated by the General Assembly.

The Court recognizes there are also scenarios in which the Insurers may, for
whatever reason and without the Board’s prompting, decide to submit a late payment
on an invoice they had previously denied in “good faith.” In these instances, the
same “formula” for determining when statutory interest begins to accumulate would

be applied.



Finally, the Court acknowledges that such a “bright-line” rule becomes unfair
for each party under certain circumstances. However, the insurance carrier should
not receive any advantage by not having to pay interest for denying a claim that the
Board subsequently finds it should have paid. Even under the holding the Court has
reached here, the Board retains the inherent authority to modify interest based on
any unique or unusual circumstances presented to it.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Plaintiff’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment
on the meaning of 19 Del. C. §§ 2362(b) and 2322F(h) is GRANTED IN PART
AND DENIED IN PART. Defendants’ Cross-Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment is GRANTED IN PART AND DENIED IN PART.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

L

Jﬁ,dge William C. Carpenter/Jr.




