IN THE COURT OF CHANCERY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

Register in Chancery Register in Chancery Register in Chancery
Kent County New Castle County Sussex County

38 The Green, Ste. 208 500 N. King Street, Ste. 11600 34 The Circle

Dover, DE 19901 Wilmington, DE 19801 Georgetown, DE 19947
302-735-1930 302-255-0544 302-856-5777

Motion to Appoint Appraiser

Pursuant to 12 Del. C. § 3951 and Chancery Rule 113, Court approval is
required for a guardian to sell real estate that is titled in the name of a person with
a disability or minor. The guardian must file a motion to appoint an appraiser, then
a petition to sell the real estate and finally a return of sale.

e The motion to appoint an appraiser requires the following:
o A completed motion. The court clerk cannot complete the motion for you.
o The filing fee for the motion is $2.00 per page. We accept cash, check or
money order (made payable to “Register in Chancery”). If the Register in
Chancery’s office makes photocopies for you, we will charge a $1.50 per
page fee.

e The guardian(s) is/are responsible for obtaining consents from the interested
parties or sending notice of the motion to the interested parties by regular U.S.
mail. Please see the instruction sheet within this packet for additional
information.

¢ You may mail the completed motion to the Register in Chancery in the county
where your guardianship case was established, and the completed order will be
mailed back to you. The Court will appoint an independent appraiser who is
typically given thirty (30) days to file the appraisal.
o Once the appraiser is appointed, he/she will contact the guardian(s) to
schedule a convenient time for the property to be appraised.
o Once the appraisal is completed, the Court expects the property to be
sold for the appraised value (or higher).
o The guardian is to pay the appraiser’s fee within fifteen (15) days of
receiving the completed appraisal and file proof of payment with the
Court.
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IN THE COURT OF CHANCERY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
IN THE MATTER OF:

. CM.#

A person with a disability/minor

MOTION TO APPOINT AN APPRAISER

1. Name of guardian(s):

2. Date guardian(s) was/were appointed:

3. The person with a disability/minor owns the real property located at

[Complete address of property],

Tax Parcel number

4. It is necessary to sell the property for the following reason(s):

5. The guardian(s) respectfully request(s) that the Court appoint a
qualified appraiser to appraise the property so that the guardian(s) may list it for

sale.



6. The guardian(s) understand(s) the appraiser’s fee must be paid within

fifteen (15) days of receiving the completed appraisal.

7. WHEREFORE, guardian(s) respectfully request(s) that the Court

appoint an appraiser pursuant to 12 Del. C. § 3951(c).

Guardian

Co-Guardian (if applicable)

| declare under penalty of perjury

under the laws of Delaware that the
foregoing is true and correct.
Executed on the day of
(month) (year).

| declare under penalty of perjury

under the laws of Delaware that the
foregoing is true and correct.
Executed on the day of
(month) (year).

(Guardian’s Printed Name)

(Co-Guardian’s Printed Name)

(Guardian’s Signature)

(Co-Guardian’s Signature)

(Guardian’s Address)

(Co-Guardian’s Address)

(Guardian’s Address)

(Co-Guardian’s Address)

(Guardian’s Phone Number)

(Co-Guardian’s Phone Number)




Instructions for Notifying Interested Party(ies)

It is the guardian’s(s’) responsibility to notify the interested party(ies) when a
motion is filed with the Court.

If you do not know the address for an interested party, you must make every
attempt to locate the address and file the enclosed affidavit of efforts to locate
address of interested party with your motion (a separate affidavit is required for
each individual).

Option 1 — Consent
Any interested party may sign a copy of the attached “Consent” form.

Option 2 — Send Notice
If any interested party does not sign the consent form, you must send them a copy
of the attached “Notice of Motion”. You may send the notice by regular U.S. Mail.

Any interested party who has not signed a consent must receive notice of your
motion at least thirteen (13) days before the Court will consider the motion. This
ensures that all interested parties have adequate time to contact the Court with any
guestions they may have or file any objection to the motion.

To be filed with the Court
You must file the following documents with the Court before the motion will be
reviewed by a Judicial Officer:

a. Any consent forms,

b. The attached “Certificate of Mailing” (if any notices were sent), and
c. Any affidavit(s) of efforts to locate address of interested party.




IN THE COURT OF CHANCERY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

In the matter of:

, C.M. #:
A person with a disability/minor :

CONSENT

l, , Whose relationship to the

person with a disability/minor is that of (e.0.

mother, brother), hereby consent to the motion to appoint an appraiser for the

property located at

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of Delaware that the foregoing is
true and correct.

Executed on the day of (month) (year).

(Printed Name)

(Signature)

Address:

Phone Number:




IN THE COURT OF CHANCERY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

[1Register in Chancery [IRegister in Chancery [1Register in Chancery
Kent County New Castle County Sussex County

38 The Green, Ste. 208 500 N. King St., Ste. 11600 34 The Circle

Dover, DE 19901 Wilmington, DE 19801 Georgetown, DE 19947
302-735-1930 302-255-0544 302-856-5777

IN THE MATTER OF:
C.M. #

A person with a disability/minor

Notice of Motion to Appoint an Appraiser

Dear Interested Parties:

This is a notice that | am/we are filing a motion to appoint an appraiser for

the property located at which is owned

by the person with a disability/minor. Notice is being sent to you as an interested
party.
If you object to the motion, you must immediately file a written objection

with the Register in Chancery’s Office that has been marked above. If you do not

file a written objection within thirteen (13) days of the date of this notice, any

objections will be deemed waived.

Petitioner’s Signature Co-Petitioner’s Signature

Dated:




IN THE COURT OF CHANCERY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF:

A person with a disability/minor

C.M. #

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

The guardian(s) mailed on this date,

a “Notice of

Motion” to the following interested parties:

Name

Address

Guardian

Co-Guardian (if applicable)

| declare under penalty of perjury

under the laws of Delaware that the
foregoing is true and correct.
Executed on the day of
(month) (year).

| declare under penalty of perjury

under the laws of Delaware that the
foregoing is true and correct.
Executed on the day of
(month) (year).

(Guardian’s Printed Name)

(Co-Guardian’s Printed Name)

(Guardian’s Signature)

(Co-Guardian’s Signature)




IN THE COURT OF CHANCERY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF:

.. CM.#
A person with a disability/minor :

AFFIDAVIT OF EFFORTS TO LOCATE
ADDRESS OF INTERESTED PARTY

I/\We, , petitioner(s) in the above

matter, hereby confirm that I/We have been unable, after exercising reasonable

diligence, to locate an address for interested party,

[Name of interested party or missing person], in order to provide that interested
party with notice of the filing of the petition.

My/Our last contact with [Name of

interested party or missing person] was on or around

[month/year] and to the best of my/our knowledge, the last contact he/she had with

the person with a disability was on or around [month/year].

My/Our efforts have included the following [please check all that apply]:

[1 performing an internet search for the address of the interested party;

[ ] asking other interested parties if they know of the missing person’s
current whereabouts;

[ messaging the missing person through electronic means;

[] Other:




If I/We subsequently locate the missing interested party, 1/We will notify the

Court of his/her address.

Petitioner Co-Petitioner

STATE OF

COUNTY OF

This instrument was acknowledged before me on this day of

, 20 by

[Name of affiant].

Pursuant to Court of Chancery Rule 178B, the use of an Unsworn Declaration (see

Notary Public/Chancery Court Clerk

below) is permitted rather than the notary requirement.

Petitioner

Co-Petitioner (if applicable)

| declare under penalty of perjury

under the laws of Delaware that the
foregoing is true and correct.
Executed on the day of
(month) (year).

| declare under penalty of perjury
under the laws of Delaware that the
foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on the day of

(month) (year).

(Petitioner’s Printed Name)

(Co- Petitioner’s Printed Name)

(Petitioner’s Signature)

(Co- Petitioner’s Signature)




