Delaware State Courts
   home | feedback 
Delaware State Courts.  The Official Website of the Delaware Judiciary
Delaware State Courts
Judicial Officers
Judges Profiles
Judicial Preferences
Orders & Opinions, Civil
Orders & Opinions, Criminal
Superior Court Investiture Ceremony Transcripts, 1966 - 2013
Judicial Officers—View Summaries 1831 to present


President Judge James T. Vaughn Jr.

  President Judge James T. Vaughn Jr.  The Honorable James T. Vaughn Jr. was appointed Resident Judge in Kent County of the Superior Court of Delaware on October 28, 1998; elevated to President Judge of the Superior Court on October 12, 2004.

President Judge Vaughn received his B.A. from Duke University in 1971 and his J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center in 1976. Following admission to the Delaware Bar in 1976, he returned to Dover to practice general civil and criminal law in the firm of Vaughn and Vaughn. In 1988 he became a member of the firm of Schmittinger and Rodriguez in Dover.

While in private law practice, he served as an associate member of the Board on Professional Responsibility of the Supreme Court of Delaware, president of the Kent County Bar Association, and vice-president of the Delaware State Bar Association.

President Judge Vaughn is a member of the Kent County Bar Association, Terry-Carey American Inn of Court and National Conference of State Trial Judges. He served as a judicial member of the Joint Bar/Bench Committee on Civility and as a member of the Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee.

President Judge Vaughn's present term ends October 11, 2016.