
State of Delaware 

Justice of the Peace 
Truancy Court 

HELPFUL INFORMATION  

AND TIPS FOR  
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CONTACTING YOURCONTACTING YOURCONTACTING YOURCONTACTING YOUR    

TRUANCY COURTTRUANCY COURTTRUANCY COURTTRUANCY COURT    

    
New Castle CountyNew Castle CountyNew Castle CountyNew Castle County    

    
JP Court #10 

210 Greenbank Road 
Wilmington, DE 19808 

302-995-8640 

 
Kent CountyKent CountyKent CountyKent County    

    
JP Court #7 

480 Bank Lane 
Dover, DE 19904 
302-739-4554 

 
Sussex CountySussex CountySussex CountySussex County    

    
JP Court #1 

9 Main Street 
Frankford, DE 19945 

302-732-9580 

 

MAKING THE TRUANCYMAKING THE TRUANCYMAKING THE TRUANCYMAKING THE TRUANCY    
COURT EXPERIENCECOURT EXPERIENCECOURT EXPERIENCECOURT EXPERIENCE    

WORK FOR YOUWORK FOR YOUWORK FOR YOUWORK FOR YOU    
    

♦ Maintain contact with the   
Visiting Teacher (VT). Your VT 
can help you with issues at 
school and in finding resources 
for your child.  

 

♦ Maintain contact with the 
Court. Truancy Court is     
structured to provide a setting 
where family supports and  
other resources can be       
identified and work together.  

 

♦ The Truancy Case Manager is 
available to answer any     
questions you might have. 

 
INCLEMENT WEATHERINCLEMENT WEATHERINCLEMENT WEATHERINCLEMENT WEATHER    

 
In the event of  inclement/severe 
weather, please call the Court to 

confirm the status of your    
scheduled hearing. Due to case 

volume, the Court is unable to call 
defendants individually to notify 

them when cases have been     
continued/re-scheduled due to 

inclement/severe weather.  



 
WHAT TO KEEP IN MINDWHAT TO KEEP IN MINDWHAT TO KEEP IN MINDWHAT TO KEEP IN MIND    

    
♦ The date, time, and location of 

your arraignment is on the first 
page of your summons. 

 

♦ Your hearing will be at the 
Truancy Court in the county in 
which you are charged: 

 
NEW CASTLE COUNTYNEW CASTLE COUNTYNEW CASTLE COUNTYNEW CASTLE COUNTY    

 

JP Court #10, Wilmington 
 

KENT COUNTYKENT COUNTYKENT COUNTYKENT COUNTY    
    

JP Court #7, Dover 
 

SUSSEX COUNTYSUSSEX COUNTYSUSSEX COUNTYSUSSEX COUNTY    
    

JP Court #1, Frankford 
 

♦ If  you find mistakes in your 
child’s attendance report, bring 
any necessary documentation 
to your hearing, such as notes 
from doctors or counselors. 

 

♦ According to Delaware Law, a 
student is considered “truant” 
if  he/she has more than 3   
unexcused absences during the 
course of the school year. 

 
♦ According to Delaware Law, 

school districts must file truancy 
charges after a student has 
reached 20 unexcused absences. 

 

♦ Children under 12 years of age 
cannot be charged with truancy 
(failure to attend school). Only a 
parent can be charged if  a child 
is under 12 years of age. 

 

♦ A truancy charge for a child 12 
years of age or over is a civil 
charge. 

 

♦ A truancy charge for a parent 
(failure to send a student to 
school) is a criminal charge. 

 

 
YOUR FIRST COURT APPEARANCEYOUR FIRST COURT APPEARANCEYOUR FIRST COURT APPEARANCEYOUR FIRST COURT APPEARANCE    

    

♦ Your first appearance in        
Truancy Court is an arraign-
ment. The truancy charge will 
be explained, and you will be 
asked to enter a plea of “guilty” 
or “not guilty” (for adults) or 
“responsible” or “not responsi-
ble” (for juveniles).    

 

♦ If  you plead “not guilty” or “not 
responsible, your case will be 
scheduled for trial. 

 
AFTER ARRAIGNMENT/TRIALAFTER ARRAIGNMENT/TRIALAFTER ARRAIGNMENT/TRIALAFTER ARRAIGNMENT/TRIAL    

 

♦ If  you enter a plea of “guilty” 
or “responsible” at arraignment 
or are found “guilty or 
“responsible” at trial, your case 
will enter the “case review” 
process. 

 

♦ The purpose of the “case re-
view” is to identify why a child 
is not attending school and 
work with the child and family 
to solve the problems. 

 

♦ Following each “case review,” 
the parent and/or child will be 
provided with a list of “bond 
conditions.” All defendants are 
required to comply with all 
Court-ordered conditions. 

 

♦ Bond orders include the date, 
time, and location of the next 
“case review.” 

 

♦ If  you achieve “full compli-
ance” with the Court, the     
original truancy charge will be 
cleared (expunged) from your 
record. 
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