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DIVORCE (Including dissolution of Civil Unions)/ ANNULMENT 
INSTRUCTION PACKET 

 
 

For purposes of this packet, whether you are married or have entered into a civil union, 
the act of dissolving the marriage or union will be referred to as Divorce. 
 
 Use the Petition for Divorce/Annulment ONLY when: 
 

•   You want a divorce or annulment 
 
  AND 
 

• MARRIAGES AND CIVIL UNIONS: Either you or your spouse has re-
sided (lived) in Delaware for at least 6 months immediately preceding fil-
ing for divorce or annulment; OR Either you or your spouse has been sta-
tioned in Delaware as a member of the military for at least 6 months im-
mediately preceding filing for divorce or annulment 

  
 OR 
 
• CIVIL UNIONS ONLY: you and your spouse do not live in Delaware and 

your state of residence does not allow civil unions to be dissolved AND 
your civil union was solemnized in Delaware. 

 
Although this packet appears to discuss only what you need to do if you want to file a 
Petition for Divorce, you should also use this packet if you want to file a Petition for 
Annulment. 
 
 
 

HOW TO USE THIS PACKET 
 
This packet contains general information about the Divorce process and basic instruc-
tions on how to complete the Court forms featured in the FORMS PACKET which in-
cludes both blank forms for your completion as well as sample forms which have been 
filled out with generic information to help you better understand what information is re-
quested by the Court. 
 
You should read all of the instructions carefully before filing out any of the forms.  All of 
the forms must be neatly filled out by hand or typed. 
 

For word versions of these forms that can be completed electronically visit the 
Court’s website at www.courts.delaware.gov/family  
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YOU MAY NOT NEED TO COMPLETE ALL OF THE SECTIONS IN THIS PACKET. 
 
A paragraph at the beginning of each Section will describe who should complete that 
Section.  Read carefully to determine if that Section applies to you.  ONLY complete 
the sections that apply to you. 
 
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO COMPLETE ALL THE SECTIONS AT ONCE. 
 
For example, you do not have to file the forms in Section 2 at the same time as the 
forms in Section 1.  Read the information carefully to make sure that you know what 
you are supposed to do and when to do it. 
 
 
SECTIONS WITH EMPHASIS 
 
While all of the information within this packet is relevant and important, there are sec-
tions with added emphasis which will help guide you through the instruction packet. 

 Sections that are SHADED indicate example text  

 The EYE icon indicates a section that should be read carefully 

 The FILE FOLDER icon indicates a document that must be filed 

 The WRITING icon is found on the SAMPLE FORMS indicating where 
you must input information on the forms you will file with the Court. 

 The STOP icon indicates either the end of a section or that items 
should be completed before continuing  
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TIPS AND REMINDERS 

 
 

 The laws governing divorce and annulment are found in Title 13 of the Dela-
ware Code.  It will be helpful for you to read these statutes, so that you are 
aware of the law that the Court will be applying when deciding your case.  
The Delaware Code is available in the Family Court Resource Centers, pub-
lic libraries throughout Delaware and on the internet at: 

www.delcode.state.de.us 
 BE AWARE that this packet does NOT address the issues of custody, visita-

tion or child support.  Speak with the staff at the Family Court Resource Cen-
ters or visit the Family Court website for information and packets addressing 
these issues.  Additional resources will contain information specific to these 
types of filings as well as the forms required by the Court. 

 Remember who is the Petitioner and who is the Respondent. 
♦ The PETITIONER is the person who files the Petition  
♦ The RESPONDENT is the person replying or responding to the Petition. 

 Remember that properly completing the forms does not guarantee that the 
Court will give the Petitioner what they are asking for.  It is up to the Peti-
tioner and Respondent at the Court Hearing to prove why the Court should 
give the relief that has been requested. 

 Representing yourself may take a lot of time, may be difficult and may be 
confusing.  The Court will expect you to follow the same rules that attorneys 
must follow.  If at any point during the process you are unsure about 
representing yourself, you should speak with an attorney. 

 Please remember that COURT STAFF CAN NOT GIVE YOU LEGAL AD-
VICE.  While staff can tell you what options exist within Family Court’s juris-
diction, we can not tell you which pleading you should file.  Family Court’s 
instruction packets as well as our FAQ’s are the best information available 
from the Court regarding what a certain filing is, what to file, and how to file.  
If after reviewing the Court’s resources, you still have questions, please con-
tact an attorney. 

 If you would like assistance in finding an attorney, you can call Lawyer Re-
ferral Services in New Castle County, 302-478-8850, and in Kent and Sus-
sex Counties, 1-888-225-0582.  There is also an Attorney Roster available 
in the Resource Centers in each County.  This roster will list a sample of at-
torneys practicing Family Law in Delaware and help you to understand the 
costs and areas in which they practice. 

 Always bring your photo identification. The Court will only accept either State 
or Federally issued photo identification.  Primary examples are drivers li-
censes, state issued ID cards or a passport. 
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MAINTAINING YOUR PAPERWORK 
 

Please read and remember these important tips which will not 
only assist you with finding documentation in the future but also 

save you money. 
 

REMEMBER 
 

♦ Keep a copy of every document and Court paper. 
♦ Keep all notes, documents and Court papers to-

gether and organized in a folder with the most re-
cent papers on top 

♦ Bring this folder with you each time you come to 
Court 

♦ When you file a document with the Court, bring 
the required number of copies of each paper and 
an extra copy for you to have “clocked in”  Keep 
the clocked-in copy in your folder as proof of the 
time and date you filed each document.   

 
 
 
♦ Printing the required number of copies prior to coming to Court 
will save you money. 
 
 

 
 
♦ When you must mail something, we suggest that you use regular mail AND 

“certified mail, return receipt requested” so that you have proof that the other 
party received the envelope.  If you cannot afford to pay for “certified mail” 
we suggest you get a “certificate of mailing” at the post office to prove that 
you mailed the envelope to the other party.  You may purchase both small 
and medium stamped envelopes at the Resource Centers and the Court will 
mail your papers for you by regular mail.  YOU are responsible for certified 
mail. 
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The Divorce Process 

The Petitioner starts the Divorce 
Process by filing a Petition for  
Divorce/Annulment with the 

Court 
(Section 1) 

Respondent has 20 days after 
being served to respond to the 
Petition for Divorce/Annulment 

by filing an Answer. 

Complete Parent Education Class and File Certificate of Completion 
*WHEN APPLICABLE* 

(Section 2) 

Date of Hearing for Divorce 
(Section 3) 

File Request to Proceed 
Without a Hearing 

(Section 3) 

Issuance of Decree of Divorce or Annulment 
(Section 3) 

Rule 16(c) Financial Report 
Must be completed by both parties 

*WHEN APPLICABLE* 
(Section 4) 

Hearing Before a Judge 
Property Division and Alimony matters 

Requests for Counsel fees and/or Court costs 
(Section 5) 



 

 

Section 1: 
Types of Divorce 

 
There are different types of divorce in Delaware.  Your divorce will be processed 
differently depending upon what type it is.  Divorces can be Contested or Un-
contested. 

 
♦ If the Petition for Divorce/Annulment is contested, the matter will automati-

cally be scheduled for a hearing.  Contested essentially means that the 
Respondent challenges material information in the petition such as jurisdic-
tion or the grounds for divorce. 

♦ If the Respondent does not file an Answer within 20 days of receiving the 
Petition for Divorce/Annulment OR files an Answer agreeing with your re-
quest for a divorce, the petition is uncontested.  If the petition is uncon-
tested the Petitioner can choose what type of divorce proceeding he/she 
would like to have 

• The Petitioner may request that the Court decide the Petition for Di-
vorce/Annulment based solely on the papers that are filed, without 
the parties appearing in Court for a hearing; OR 

• The Petitioner may choose to have the Court decide the Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment after holding a hearing which the Petitioner 
must attend and the Respondent may but is not required to, attend. 

 
The Court will use the same standard for granting a divorce regardless of the type of 
divorce that you choose; however, different filing requirements exist for each type of 
divorce. 
 
When completing the Petition for Divorce/Annulment, the Petitioner will be asked to 
pick which type of uncontested divorce he/she would like to get IF the petition is un-
contested.  Please read the information in this Instruction Packet carefully to help you 
determine which type of divorce you would like to choose. 
 
You may change your mind regarding which type of divorce you would like after 
you file the Petition.  However, you will need to be sure that you have met all of the 
necessary requirements for filing that type of divorce.   
 

BE AWARE.  If you choose to proceed on the papers, you will not have a hearing 
in front of a Commissioner to decide whether your divorce should be granted.  

However, IF you or your spouse request that the Court divide your marital property/
debts and/or award alimony, you MAY still have a hearing in front of a Judge.  The 
hearing in front of a Judge on these ancillary matters CANNOT be waived, unless the 
parties settle their case prior to the scheduled hearing. 
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Starting the Process 
 

You MUST file the ORIGINAL and ONE (1) COPY of each form listed below with 
the Court 

 
PLEASE REMOVE THE STAPLE FROM YOUR FORMS PACKET 

• As each form is discussed, place the sample form and blank form side by side 
• As you review the information about each form, look at the sample form and when 

you are comfortable with what information belongs in each section of the form, 
complete the blank form for submission to the Court. 

 
 
Petition for Divorce/Annulment (file original and one copy). 
 

♦ Although they are on the same petition form, Divorce and Annulment are 
separate actions.  Generally, litigants choose to file either a Petition for Di-
vorce or a Petition for Annulment.  You should decide which petition is right 
for you.  If you file a Petition for Divorce, Complete Section II on the peti-
tion.  If you file a Petition for Annulment, complete Section III.  If you 
choose to file both types of petitions, you must fill out both section II and III.  
You must also pay a filing fee for each petition. 

♦ Either you or your spouse MUST have lived in Delaware for 6 consecutive 
months before you can file for divorce in this State.  If neither of you have 
lived in Delaware for the past 6 months in a row, you should speak with an 
attorney to determine where is the best place to file for divorce. 

 OR, if you are filing for a civil union 
• IF neither you or your spouse have ever lived in Delaware, and 

you are seeking to Divorce from a Civil Union solemnized in the 
State, you may file in Family Court in any County so long as your 
state of residence does not permit you to divorce. 

• IF neither you or your spouse currently live in Delaware and you 
are seeking a divorce from a civil union solemnized in this state, 
you must file in the county in which one or both of you last resided 

♦ When filing in the Separation Date on your petition, write down the 
MONTH, DAY and YEAR that you separated. 

♦ If your spouse is a citizen of another country or has lived in another country 
in the past two years, you must list the address of the embassy for that 
country.  BE AWARE… possession of a United States green card does not 
make a person a citizen of the United States of America.  Even if your 
spouse has a green card, you must list the embassy for the country where 
he/she is still a citizen. 

♦ Before the Court will grant your divorce, you must demonstrate (indicate) 
that your marriage/civil union is irretrievably broken AND that reconciliation 
with your spouse is not probable by checking BOTH the appropriate boxes 
on the petition.  You must check both boxes before the Court will grant 
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your divorce.  You must also check at least one of the reasons why your 
marriage/civil union is irretrievably broken. 

♦ Ancillary matters are actions that are dependent on the divorce action.  In 
other words, the Court cannot consider these matters apart from a Petition 
for Divorce/Annulment.  If you want the Court to grant you a property divi-
sion, alimony, court costs, attorney fees or any other ancillary relief allowed 
in Title 13, § 1507 (f), you must ask the Court to do so as part of the di-
vorce proceeding before the divorce decree is entered. 

♦ Please note that you can only request to change YOUR name.  You may 
not request to change your spouse’s name.  You may only change your 
name to your maiden name or other former name. 

♦ The Petition for Divorce/Annulment must be notarized by a notary public or 
authorized court staff.  DO NOT sign your petition until you are in the pres-
ence of a notary. 

 
The Separation Date that you list on the Petition for Divorce/Annulment is 
VERY IMPORTANT. Court staff will use this date to determine when your petition 

can be decided by a Commissioner.  Once you have finished filling out your petition, 
write down the Separation Date that you listed in your petition in the appropriate space 
on the next page.  Calculate 6 months from the date and write it in the appropriate 
space on the next page.  The second date is the earliest you can expect the Court to 
decide your petition unless you have filed on the grounds of misconduct or have filed 
for an annulment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Complete the Petition for Divorce/Annulment (Form 442) using the sample form 
from the Forms Packet as a reference. 

 
 

Information Sheet form (file original and one copy) 
 

♦ This form provides the Court with general information about the parties 
which allows the Court to adequately notify the parties about upcoming 
proceedings 

 
 
 

Complete the Information Sheet (Form 240) using the sample form from the Forms 
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SEPARATION DATE ON                       6 MONTHS FROM      
MY PETITION:                                       SEPARATION DATE: 
    
___________________________          _________________________ 
MONTH        DAY              YEAR                          MONTH        DAY              YEAR 



 

 

Division of Public Health/Vital Statistics form (file original only) 
 

♦ This form must be filled out in black ink or typed. 
♦ This form will contain similar information to what was included on the Infor-

mation Sheet.  However, the information on this sheet is provided directly 
to the Division of Public Health and Vital Statistics for their records. 

 
 
 
 
 

Complete the Vital Statistics (Form 441) using the sample form from the Forms 
Packet as a reference. 

 
 

 
A certified copy OR the original of your Marriage Certificate/Certificate of 
Civil Union 

 
♦ You MUST file a certified copy of your marriage certificate/certificate of 

civil union OR the original certificate.  Both a certified copy and original 
will bear an embossed seal or watermark signifying that it is an official 
copy.  You may NOT file a photocopy of an original copy without prior per-
mission pursuant to motion. 

♦ A certified copy of your marriage certificate/certificate of civil union is avail-
able from the Division of Public Health and Vital Statistics in the state or 
jurisdiction where you entered into the marriage/civil union. You CANNOT 
obtain a copy of your marriage certificate/certificate of civil union at Family 
Court. 

 
 
 
 

If you do not have either your original or a certified copy of your Marriage Certificate/
Certificate of Civil Union, BE SURE TO OBTAIN ONE BEFORE FILING WITH THE 

COURT. 
 

 
Request for Notice form (file original and one copy) 
 

♦ On this form you will tell the Court how you want to notify the Respondent 
about the Petition for Divorce/Annulment. 

♦ If your spouse lives in Delaware and you know his/her address, you must 
ask the Court to personally serve him/her with a copy of the Petition.  This 
means that someone will deliver the Petition to your spouse at his/her 
home or workplace. 
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♦ If you do not know where your spouse lives, you must ask the Court to 
publish AT YOUR EXPENSE notice of the petition in the newspaper.  You 
must also complete an Affidavit that a Party’s Address is Unknown. 
This Affidavit is included in the “Situational” forms in the next section. 

♦ If your spouse does not live in Delaware, you must ask the Court to send 
notice to your spouse by certified mail AND, AT YOUR EXPENSE, publish 
notice of the petition in the newspaper. 

 
 
 
 

 
Complete the Request for Notice (Form 400) using the sample form from the Forms 

Packet as a reference. 
 
 

You have now reached the Situational Forms section. 
 
 
 
 

Each form in this section should ONLY be completed if the situation described matches 
your situation.  We suggest that you review the entire list of “Situational Forms” before 

filling any of them out.  Once you’ve identified the forms that pertain to you, fill them out 
using the sample forms in the Forms Packet as a guide.  Please read carefully and 

complete the forms that apply to you. 
 

 
Affidavit of Children’s Rights (File original and one copy) 
 

File this form IF: Petitioner and Respondent have a child or children in common who 
are under the age of 18 
 

 
Separation Agreement (File original and one copy) 
 

File this form IF:  you and your spouse have agreed on the terms of your divorce and 
you want the Court to be able to have the power to make you and your spouse follow 
your agreement by enforcing it 
 

♦ A separation agreement is NOT a Court Form and is NOT included in the 
Forms Packet. 

♦ To file a separation agreement, you must write down how you and your 
spouse are dividing your property and/or debts and any other agreements 
(such as custody, visitation, child support, alimony etc.) that you and your 
spouse have regarding the divorce. 
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♦ At the top of the document, write the case name and file number (this is in 
the top right hand corner of the Petition for Divorce/Annulment). 

♦ Title the paper “Separation Agreement.” 
♦ BOTH you and your spouse MUST sign the Separation Agreement in the 

presence of a notary. 
♦ When you file this document, you MUST ALSO file a Stipulation to incorpo-

rate the Separation Agreement. 
♦ The Court will NOT review your agreement to decide if it is fair. 

 
 
Stipulation to Incorporate the Separation Agreement Form  
(file original and one copy) 
 

File this form IF:  you have a Separation Agreement and you want the Court to be 
able to enforce the Separation Agreement. 
 

♦ BOTH you and your spouse MUST sign the Stipulation to Incorporate the 
Separation Agreement in the presence of a notary. 

♦ This is to be filed at the same time as your Separation Agreement 
 

 
Affidavit that a Party’s Address is Unknown Form (file original and one copy) 
 

File this form IF:  You do not know where the Respondent lives 
 

♦ You must tell the Court where to notify the Respondent of the Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment.  If you do not know where the Respondent currently 
lives, you must try to locate him or her.  Ways to do this include talking to 
your spouse’s friends or relatives or checking the internet.  If after looking 
for the Respondent you cannot find a current address, you must complete 
this form. 

♦ DO NOT COMPLETE this form until you have made an effort to locate the 
Respondent 

 
 
Affidavit that a Party’s Social Security Number is Unknown form 
(file original and one copy) 

 
File this form IF:  You do not know the Respondent’s social security number 
 

♦ Delaware law requires that you provide the Court with both parties’ social 
security numbers.  If you do not know the Respondent’s social security 
number, you must try to locate it.  Ways to do this include talking to your 
spouse or looking in financial records.  If after looking for the Respondent’s 
social security number you cannot find it, you must complete this form. 
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♦ Do not complete this form until you have made an effort to locate the Re-
spondent’s social security number. 

 
 
Waiver of Rights under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act 
(file original and one copy) 

 
File this form IF:  The Respondent IS in the military. 
 

♦ If your spouse is in the military, they will need to file either an Affidavit of 
Appearance, an Answer, or YOU will need to have them sign a Waiver of 
Rights under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act.  If your spouse does not 
file one of these documents or sign the waiver, YOU must file a Motion to 
Appoint an Attorney for the Respondent.  You should start this process 
as soon as possible because it takes time and the Court will not schedule 
your divorce hearing until this process is complete. 

 
 
Rule 16(c) Financial Report 
 

 
IF you have requested any ancillary matters as part of your petition, you will 
be responsible for completing half of this form.  This form is discussed in full 
in Section 4 of this packet.  It is recommended that you wait until Section 4 
to begin filling out this form. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Now that you have identified what, if any, situational forms relate to you, please com-

plete them and submit them at the appropriate time as described by this section. 
 
 
Forms should be filed at the Family Court in the county where either you or your 
spouse currently lives unless: 
  

Neither you or your spouse have ever lived in Delaware, and you are seeking to 
divorce from a civil union solemnized in the State of Delaware, you may file in 

Family Court in any county if your state of residence does not permit you to divorce. 
 

Neither you or your spouse currently live in Delaware, but one or both of you 
have in the past, and you are seeking a divorce from a civil union solemnized in 

the State of Delaware, you must file in the county in which one or both of you last re-
sided 
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♦ In Kent and Sussex Counties you may file your papers at the Resource Centers on 

the first floor of the Family Court Building 
♦ In New Castle County, you may file your papers at the Resource Center on Lower 

Level 1 (LL1) of the New Castle County Courthouse 
♦ If you file your papers by mail, the addresses for each courthouse are available on 

the Family Court website at www.courts.delaware.gov/family. 
♦ The Court DOES NOT accept filings that are faxed or emailed. 
 

 
A filing fee is charged for each petition that is filed.  The filing fee can differ de-
pending on the type of petition you are filing.  To find out what the filing fee is, 

you can look at the Family Court website or go to the Family Court Resource Centers 
located in each courthouse.  The filing fee can be paid in cash, by credit card, by debit 
card, by check or by money order made payable to “Family Court.”  If you are filing by 
mail, you may only pay by check or money order.  FAMILY COURT WILL NOT AC-
CEPT YOUR PAPERS WITHOUT THE FILING FEE.  There are additional costs if you 
must publish notice of this action. (See page 9 under the Request for Notice form for 
more information of when publication is necessary.) 
 
 

Additional Instructions for Section 1 
 

Your spouse has 20 days from the date of service (date that the Respondent 
receives the Petition for Divorce/Annulment or date of publication) to respond to 

your Petition for Divorce/Annulment.  Your spouse may file an Answer to your Petition 
for Divorce/Annulment on which your spouse may admit or deny any of the state-
ments that you made in your petition.  On the Answer, your spouse may counterclaim 
for divorce or annulment.  A counterclaim means that your spouse is filing his/her own 
petition for Divorce/Annulment.  Your spouse may also request that the Court deter-
mine ancillary matters. 
 

Instead of filing an Answer, your spouse may file an Affidavit of Appearance 
and Waiver of Rights forms.  By filing an Affidavit of Appearance, your spouse 

is telling the Court that he/she does not need to be given notice of the Petition for Di-
vorce/Annulment.  In other words, they do not need to be served with a copy of the pe-
tition.  The Waiver of Rights form tells the Court that your spouse does not want to file 
an Answer. 
 
 
 
 

 
Once all of you forms from Section 1 have been filed with the Court, proceed to  

Section 2 
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 Section 2: 
Parent Education Class 

 
Only complete this section if you and your spouse are parents of 

a living child(ren) in common up to the age of 17. 
 

If you and your spouse do not have children together up to the 
age of 17, continue on to Section 3. 

 
You MUST file the certificate below: 
 

 
Certificate(s) of Completion of Parent Education Class 
 

 
All divorcing parents must take a Parent Education Class if they have children of the 
marriage up to the age of 17, unless the Court upon motion, determines that participa-
tion in the Course is deemed not necessary.  A listing of approved classes is available 
at the Family Court Resource Centers.   
 
You may motion the Court to approve a Parent Education Course that is not currently 
listed on the Court’s approved course list.  Wait until the Court grants approval of a 
non-approved class before participation because your request may be denied.   
 
Once you have completed the Parent Education Class, a Certificate(s) of Completion 
of Parent Education Class will be given to you.  You must file the ORIGINAL copy(ies) 
of the Certificate of Completion of Parent Education Class with the Family Court.  YOU 
CANNOT PROCEED WITH THE DIVORCE PROCESS UNTIL THE CERTIFICATE 
OF COMPLETION OF PARENT EDUCATION CLASS HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE 
COURT. 
 
 
 

 
 
 

Once you’ve reviewed all of Section 2 and your petition becomes Trial Ready,  
proceed to Section 3 
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 Section 3: 
Petition is Trial-Ready 

 
You cannot proceed with the divorce process until your Petition for Divorce/
Annulment becomes trial ready.  Your petition is trial ready when the following 

jurisdictional requirements have been met: 
 

♦ You and your spouse have been separated for at least 6 months, unless 
you are filing on the grounds of misconduct, then you do not have to be 
separated for any specified period of time.  However, be aware that you 
must prove any allegations of misconduct by presenting evidence of the 
misconduct to the Court before a divorce will be granted on this ground. 

♦ Your spouse was served with the Petition for Divorce/Annulment. 
♦ You have completed the required Parent Education Classes and filed the 

ORIGINAL Certificate of Completion with the Court. 
 
Once your petition for Divorce/Annulment is trial-ready, you will receive a Notice from 
the Court telling you that your petition is trial-ready and that you can proceed with the 
divorce process.  The type of notification that you will receive will depend upon what 
type of divorce proceeding you requested on your petition for Divorce/Annulment.  The 
following pages will describe the type of notification you will receive and the steps that 
you must follow for each type of divorce proceeding.  Remember that you can proceed 
with either type of uncontested divorce regardless of what you selected on your peti-
tion.  If you change your mind regarding the type of divorce proceeding that you would 
like to file, be sure to submit the appropriate papers with the Court.  
 

DIVORCE DECIDED ON THE PAPERS 
 

If the petition is uncontested and you marked on your Petition for Divorce/
Annulment that you wanted the Court to proceed without a hearing, solely on 

the papers, you will receive a Notice of Trial-Readiness telling you that your petition 
is trial-ready and that you have 20 days to file the following forms. 
 

 
Request to Proceed Without a Hearing (file original and mail one copy to the 
Respondent) 

 
♦ You must file this form within 20 days of the date on the Notice of Trial-

Readiness (not the date you received it in the mail).  If you fail to file this 
request within the allotted time, you Petition for Divorce/Annulment will be 
scheduled for a hearing and you will have to appear in court to obtain your 
divorce. 

♦ You must attach a copy of the Notice of Trial-Readiness to your Re-
quest to proceed Without a Hearing. 

♦ You may NOT file this form until your Petition for Divorce/Annulment is 
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 trial-ready and you have received the Notice of Trial-Readiness.  If you 
file this form BEFORE you receive the Notice informing you that your peti-
tion is trial-ready, the matter will be scheduled for a hearing and you will 
have to appear in court to get your divorce or annulment. 

♦ You MUST file this form with an Affidavit in Support of the Request to 
Proceed Without a Hearing. 

 
Affidavit in Support of the Request to Proceed Without a Hearing (file original 
and mail one copy to the Respondent) 

 
♦ This document MUST be filed with the Request to Proceed Without a 

Hearing.  On this document you are swearing that the information con-
tained in the Petition for Divorce/Annulment and in the affidavit is true.  The 
Court will rely on this information when making a determination regarding 
your divorce petition.  Be accurate and honest. 

♦ Only respond to question #5 if the Respondent IS in the military and has 
NOT responded IN ANY WAY to the Petition for Divorce/Annulment. 

♦ Delaware law requires that you and your spouse have lived “separate and 
apart” for 30 days before the Court grants a divorce.  You and your spouse 
may reside in the same house, BUT, the Court cannot grant your Peti-
tion for Divorce if you and your spouse have occupied the same bed-
room or had sexual relations with each other within the 30 DAYS prior 
to the Court granting your Divorce.  If you and your spouse have not 
lived separate and apart for the past 30 days, DO NOT file this affidavit.  
Failure to adhere to this requirement means that your divorce is invalid. 

 
Once you have properly filed the Request to Proceed Without a Hearing and the 
Affidavit in Support of the Request, all of your filings will be forwarded to a Com-

missioner.  The Commissioner will decide whether to grant your petition for Divorce/
Annulment based upon the information contained in the papers you have filed 
 
If the Court GRANTS your Petition for Divorce/Annulment you will receive a copy of the 
Commissioner’s Order and the Decree of Divorce/Annulment in the mail.  A copy of the 
Order and Decree will also be sent to the Respondent.  If you or your spouse have re-
quested that the Court retain jurisdiction over ancillary matters, you will also receive a 
paper telling you the ancillary matter’s that the Court will decide. 
 
If the Court DOES NOT GRANT your divorce two things can happen. 
 

♦ The Commissioner will deny your Petition for Divorce/Annulment if the 
statutory requirements for granting a divorce were not met and you and 
your spouse will continue to be married/united. OR 

♦ The Commissioner can schedule a hearing to take testimony and other evi-
dence from the parties to determine if the statutory requirements have 
been met.  If your petition for Divorce/Annulment is scheduled for a hear-
ing, you will be notified by mail of the time and date of your hearing. 
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DIVORCE DECIDED AT A HEARING 

 
If the petition was uncontested and you marked on your Petition for Divorce/
Annulment that you wanted to proceed with a hearing OR if the Respondent 

contested the divorce petition, you will receive a Notice of Hearing notifying you of 
the date of your hearing.  You must come to Court on the day of your hearing for your 
Petition for Divorce/Annulment to be granted.  If you fail to appear at the hearing, the 
Court may dismiss your petition and you will have to start the process over and pay the 
filing fee again.     

 
If, AFTER you have received a Notice of Hearing, you change your mind and decide 
to proceed on the papers without having a hearing, you may file a Request to Proceed 
without a Hearing and the accompanying Affidavit anytime at least 7 days prior to the 
scheduled hearing.  You must also file a copy of the Notice of Hearing that you re-
ceived from the Court.   You must mail a copy of the Request to Proceed without a 
Hearing to the other party and provide the Court with verification that you have done 
so.  BE AWARE, if you file this request WITHIN the 7 days prior to your hearing, the 
Court CANNOT cancel your hearing and it WILL BE HELD as scheduled.  You will 
not receive any further notification from the Court that your hearing is taking 
place as scheduled.  If you fail to appear at the hearing your petition could be dis-
missed and you would have to start all over by filing a new petition and paying a new 
filing fee.  Be very careful to file at least 7 days prior to the scheduled hearing date.  
Assistance in calculating the date you can file is available in the Resource Centers in 
each Courthouse. 
 

Complete the following form and bring it to the Court with you on the day of your 
hearing. 

 
 

 
Affidavit of Non-Military Service form 
 

♦ ONLY complete this form if the Respondent is NOT in the military. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
IF you have NOT requested ancillary relief, this is the END of the Divorce Packet. 
 
IF you HAVE requested Ancillary Relief, begin section 4 immediately after you have 
received your Divorce Decree. 
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 Section 4: 
PROPERTY DIVISION AND ALIMONY 

 
Begin Immediately After Receiving Your Divorce Decree.   

Only Complete This Section If You Or Your Spouse Requested Property Division 
And/Or Alimony. 

 
The Rule 16(c) Financial Report is a form on which both spouses have to pro-
vide the Court and each other information about their finances.  Both parties 

must complete the SAME form. Pay careful attention to the instructions so you under-
stand the process, which is different than that for other forms.  The two steps for com-
pleting the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report are described on the following pages.    

 
The person who requested the Court make a decision on ANY of the following ancillary 
matters must complete the form first: 
 

♦ Division of marital property; 
♦ Division of marital debts; AND/OR 
♦ Payments of alimony. 

 
The person who completes the form FIRST is the “Petitioner” (for the purposes of 
completing this form ONLY), even if this person is not the person who filed the Petition 
for Divorce/Annulment.  The Petitioner must complete all sections pertaining to the 
“Petitioner,” while the person who did NOT make such requests would be the 
“Respondent” and must complete all sections pertaining to the “Respondent.” 
 

If BOTH of you requested that the Court make a decision on ancillary matters, 
the person who filed the Petition for Divorce/Annulment is the “Petitioner” (for 

purposes of completing this form as well). 
 
The entire form MUST be completed.  Both parties must fill out the Rule 16 (c) Finan-
cial Report completely.  Even if there is something that you do not want the other party 
to know you must put it on the form anyway or contact the Court by Motion immedi-
ately to tell the Court why you think that information should not be on the form.  Please 
see the Motion Instruction Packet for more information about filing a Motion.  The Court 
will decide if you must put the information on the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report.  DO 
NOT WAIT UNTIL YOUR 30 DAYS HAVE PASSED TO FILE YOUR MOTION WITH 
THE COURT. 
 
If you do not fill out the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report or if you hide property from your 
former spouse and the Court, the Court can impose the following SANCTIONS 
(penalties):  
 

♦ Order you to pay your former spouse’s attorney fees; 
♦ Accept your former spouse’s information on the form as true and ignore 
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 any information you may have; or 
♦ Enter a Default Judgment or Dismissal against you. 

 
If neither party files the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report in a timely manner, then the re-
quest for the Family Court to determine the ancillary matters will be dismissed.   
 

 
STEP ONE 

 
The person who is the Petitioner for the purposes of this form has 30 days AF-

TER the date that the Divorce Decree is signed by a Commissioner to complete 
the following papers: 

 
Rule 16 (C) Financial Report form (forward original to your spouse) 
 

♦ This is a very long form.  Allow yourself enough time to fill in all the neces-
sary information carefully and accurately. 

♦ REMEMBER, only fill in the portions of the form that are labeled Petition 
(P). 

♦ On the last page of the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report, you are asked to list 
the proposed division of property and debts.  In other words, you tell the 
Court how you think the property and debts should be divided.  If you do 
not think that there is enough room in the provided box, you may write in 
the box “see attached” and write how you think the property should be di-
vided on a separate piece of paper. 

♦ After the Petitioner completes the Rule 16 (c)  Financial Report, he/she 
must sign it in the presence of a notary 

♦ The Petitioner must forward the ORIGINAL notarized 16 (c) Financial Re-
port to the Respondent (the other party) or the Respondent’s attorney (if 
there is one). 

♦ Before forwarding the original Rule 16 (c) Financial Report, the Petitioner 
should make a COPY of the original and retain it for his/her records.  This 
is VERY IMPORTANT in case the Respondent does not file the original 
with the Court. 

 
Affidavit of Mailing form (file original only) 
 

♦ AFTER the Petitioner forwards the original Rule 16(c) Financial Report to 
the Respondent, he/she must complete the Affidavit of Mailing swearing 
under oath that he/she mailed the original to the Respondent or the Re-
spondent’s attorney, and file the Affidavit with the Court. 
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 STEP TWO 
 

The person who is the RESPONDENT for the purposes of this form has 30 days 
AFTER the date of mailing (look at postage date on the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report) 

to file the completed 16 (c) report:   
 

♦ The Respondent must complete their portion and sign it in the presence of 
a notary 

♦ The Respondent MUST file the ORIGINAL notarized Rule 16 (c) Financial 
Report with the Court AND forward a copy to the Petitioner or the Peti-
tioner’s Attorney (if there is one) 

 
After the Respondent forwards a copy of the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report to the Peti-
tioner, he/she must complete an Affidavit of Mailing swearing under oath that he/she 
mailed a copy to the Petitioner or the Petitioner’s Attorney. 
 
 
 
If one party does not file the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report, the Family Court may grant a 
Default Judgment or Dismissal against him/her.  In other words, that party may lose.  
The Court may also impose the same penalties stated above for not completing the 
form.  If your former spouse fails to file Rule 16 (c) Financial Report, you may be di-
rected by the Court to file the following document.  You may also be asked to submit a 
copy of the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report you filled out. 

 
Form of Order (file original only) 
 

♦ On this document, you tell the Judge what you would like him/her to order 
by writing a proposed order for the judge to sign.  You must write down 
how you want the Court to divide your property/debts and/or how much ali-
mony should be paid. 

♦ Be specific in what you write because the judge may sign the Form of Or-
der exactly how you have written it, making what you have written an en-
forceable Court Order. 

♦ DO NOT FILE THIS DOCUMENT UNTIL DIRECTED BY THE COURT TO 
DO SO.  This document is only filed IF your former spouse fails to file the 
Rule 16 (c) Financial Report in a timely manner 

♦ This document is NOT found in the Forms Packet.  It is available in the Re-
source Centers and on the Family Court Website.  

 
If you have tried to finish the Rule 16 (c) Financial Report Form but you cannot, you 
may ask that the Court give you more time by filing a Motion.  Motion forms are avail-
able in the Resource Centers.  It is up to the Court to decide whether you will get more 
time and you must have a good reason for the request.  Not completing the Rule 16 (c) 
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 Financial Report because you did not feel like doing it or you did not find the time to 
complete it, is not a good reason and the Court probably will not give you more time.   

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
When you have finished reviewing this section, continue on to SECTION 5 which de-

scribes the next events in the process. 
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 Section 5: 
ANCILLARY HEARING WITH A JUDGE 

 
If you or your former spouse requested that the Court determine property divi-
sion, alimony, counsel fees, court costs and/or any other ancillary relief 

allowed in Title 13, § 1507 (f), these matters will be scheduled for a hearing before a 
judge.  The hearing will be scheduled AFTER the Rule 16(c) Financial Report is com-
pleted by both parties and filed with the Court.   The Court will notify you by mail of the 
date of your hearing.   
 

Depending on how complicated your case is, the Judge may schedule a Pre-
trial Conference.  The Court will notify you if a pre-trial conference will be held.  You 
may also be required to submit additional information regarding your finances to the 
Court.   

 
If you do not comply with the Court’s request for additional information, the Court may 
impose the following SANCTIONS (penalties): 

 
♦ Continue the hearing; 
♦ Accept your former spouse’s information as true and ignore any informa-

tion you may have; or 
♦ Order you to pay your former spouse’s attorney fees; or 
♦ Dismiss the case. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This concludes the Divorce (including dissolution of civil union) and Annulment 

Instruction Packet 
 
 

Page 22 


