REVISED

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NUMBER 146

This 1st day of July 2003,

IT APPEARS THAT:

- (1) The new New Castle County Courthouse is complete, occupied and functioning.
- (2) The Courthouse is a marvelous facility for the administration of justice. It needs displays of art that will not only make it attractive and majestic, but will also be in keeping with its mission.
- (3) There is to date no State money for art work. The Judiciary needs to develop and implement a plan to see where we can obtain or borrow works of art and locate funding sources for the costs that will be incurred in obtaining and placing the art on display.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS DIRECTED, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court, pursuant to Delaware Constitution, art. IV, § 13(1), that:

- (A) The New Castle County Courthouse Art Committee is hereby created to explore opportunities for the loan or purchase of works of art and to recommend appropriate locations to display those works of art in the New Castle County Courthouse.
- (B) The Art Committee shall be comprised of a broad spectrum of community leaders and shall include business leaders, members of the Bar, art experts, visual artists, courthouse representatives, and members of all three branches of government.
- (C) The objectives of the New Castle County Courthouse Art Committee shall be to:
 - (i) Define a "case statement" for art in the Courthouse, including: why desired, where desired (locations for art in priority order), how it is to be acquired and relocated to the Courthouse and related issues;
 - (ii) Define parameters for art selection, including: budgeting for each priority location and determining types of art desired in each priority location (e.g., photographs, paintings, textiles, sculpture, etc.);
 - (iii) Define artist/art selection criteria, including: the display of works of prominent local artists and artists with national reputations, of permanent/temporary art and juried/nonjuried process;

- (iv) Establish installation requirements, including: insurance, labor, security, rotation of temporary exhibits, Courthouse staff contacts, etc.; and
- (v) Establish communication plans, including: the identification of a spokesperson for the initiative, unveiling and informing the community.
- (D) Upon selection of the art work and recommendations by the Art Committee, final selection and location must be approved by the Chair of the New Castle County Courthouse Operations Policy Committee.
- (E) The following persons or their designees shall constitute the New Castle County Art Committee and shall serve at the pleasure of the Chief Justice:

Charles F. Richards, Jr., Esquire - Chair

Ms. Annabelle Kressman

Mrs. Carole Balick

Mr. Steve Bruni

Mr. Robert Gore

The Honorable Gloria Homer

The Honorable Debbie Hudson

The Honorable Stephen P. Lamb

Ms. Sarah Lubin

Timothy P. McLaughlin

Ms. Alberta Melloy

Stacy Mobley, Esquire

Ms. Laura Scanlan

Lewis D. Schiliro, Esquire

Carl Schnee, Esquire

Ms. Lynn Sharp

Mr. William Shea

Mr. Buck Simpers Mr. Coleman Townsend Mrs. Suzy Veasey Stuart Young, Esquire

(D) The Honorable Carolyn Berger shall serve as Supreme Court Liaison Justice. Mr. Dennis B. Jones, State Court Administrator, shall be the Staff Liaison to the Committee.

Chief Justice

cc: The Honorable Ruth Ann Minner
The Honorable Joseph T. Walsh
The Honorable Randy J. Holland
The Honorable Carolyn Berger
The Honorable Myron T. Steele

Members of the Judicial Conference The Honorable M. Jane Brady The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan Court Administrators Clerk of the Supreme Court