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  Instructions 
New Applications for a License to Carry a Concealed Deadly Weapon 

(Retired Delaware Police Officer) 
 

In order for your new application for a license to carry a concealed deadly weapon to be processed, the following 
steps must be completed: 
 

1. Photographs 
 Include two (2) color passport-style photographs of the applicant. 
 Photograph must be taken within the six-month period immediately preceding the filing of the 

application. 
 

2. Include the statutory filing fee of $65.00.   
 Cash, Money Order or Personal Check, made payable to “PROTHONOTARY” will be accepted. 
 

3. You must request a letter from the Chief of your agency verifying that you are in good standing with the law 
enforcement agency from which you retired.  (see attached) 
 

4. A Psychiatric Waiver must be filed with your application.  (see attached) 
 

5. New Applications   
 Applications may be filed at any time, but must be filed in the County you reside. 
 You must file the new application and a duplicate copy. 
 You may hand deliver your application to the Attorney General’s Office in New Castle County and the 

Prothonotary’s Office in Kent and Sussex County, or  
 If all the requirements are met, mail your application as follows: 

 

New Castle County 
Special Investigations Unit, 5th Floor 
Delaware Department of Justice 
820 N. French Street 
Wilmington, DE  19801 
 

Contact Phone: (302) 255-0556 

Kent County Prothonotary’s Office 
CCDW Permit 
38 The Green 
Dover, DE 19901 
 

Contact Phone: (302) 735-1901 

GPS Address 
 

Kent County Courthouse  
414 Federal Street 
Dover, DE 19901 
 

Sussex County Prothonotary’s Office 
CCDW Permit 
1 The Circle, Suite 2 
Georgetown, DE 19947 
 

Contact Phone: (302) 854-6959 

 
 

https://www.google.com/maps/place/414+Federal+St,+Dover,+DE+19901/@39.1552685,-75.5219597
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Retired Delaware Police Office 

Psychiatric Waiver 
 
 

I,        affirm that I have not been committed to a 
 Name 
psychiatric facility since the date of my retirement on       . 

 

Date 

 

 

Signature 

      
Date 
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Matt Denn 
Attorney General 
State of Delaware 
820 N. French Street, 5th Floor 
Wilmington, DE 19801 

 

Dear Mr.  Denn:  
 

Retired Delaware Officer       is applying for a license to 
 

carry a concealed deadly weapon.  Officer       retired from 

       on       after    years of service. 
 Agency Name  Retired Date    

 
 According to the provisions of Del. Code, Title 11, Chapter 5, § 1441, the following procedures 

have been completed: 

 This officer has applied for this license within 90 days of his/her retirement. 

 This officer has applied for this license more than 90 days, but within 20 years of his/her 
retirement and: 

 

1) The retired officer’s criminal record has been reviewed and he/she has not been 
convicted of any crime greater than a violation since the date of his/her retirement 
and; 

2) The retired office has no record of being committed to a psychiatric facility since the 
date of his/her retirement.  He/She has forwarded a signed waiver stating he/she has 
not been committed to a psychiatric facility since the date of his/her retirement. 

 

Based upon this review, I feel he/she is currently a retired police officer in good standing and is 
qualified to carry a concealed deadly weapon under the provisions of the law. 

 

 

Sincerely,  

 
Signature 

      
Title 

 


