Delaware State Courts
   home | feedback 
  search
Delaware State Courts.  The Official Website of the Delaware Judiciary
Delaware State Courts

 Administrative Office  of the Courts Home

 Delaware Docket  Table of Contents

 Delaware Docket  Issue List

Delaware Docket Newsletter

SECURITY ASSESSMENTS IMPLEMENTED

Several courts have begun assessing special fees to help fund vital court security needs. The fees, which were authorized by recently enacted legislation (Senate Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill 75), will be used for such critical needs as additional security personnel, security cameras, and access card readers in accordance with a needs plan developed jointly by the courts. Although the legislation permitted a fee of up to $10 to be assessed, each court tailored the amount of the fee it would actually assess to its unique circumstances.

The fees enacted, by court, are as follows:

$10
Supreme Court $10 fee is assessed for all civil and criminal appeals
Court of Chancery: $10 fee is assessed for all filings of any initial complaint petition, counterclaim, third party complaint, amended complaint, or other action
Superior Court: $10 fee is assessed on all initial civil filings for which the filing fee is currently $175 and on all criminal and traffic charges for which there is a conviction
Court of Common Pleas: $3 fee is assessed on each initial civil filing and on all criminal and traffic charges for which there is a conviction
Family Court: $10 fee is assessed on all initial civil filings and criminal filings for which there is a conviction
Justice of the Peace Court: The fees are as follows:
  Landlord-Tenant Claims involving possession
$10
  Distress for Rent Claims
$10
  Debt claims (including Landlord- Tenant claims seeking only money Damages) or Trespass claims where the amount in controversy exceeds $5,000
$10
  Debt claims (including Landlord- Tenant claims seeking only money Damages) or Trespass claims where the amount in controversy equals or is between $1,000-5,000
$5
  Replevin Claims
$5
  Garagemen Lien Claims
$7
  Abandoned Property Claims
$10
  Traffic or criminal charges for which there is a conviction or a finding or an admission of responsibility for an infraction for which a civil penalty may be assessed
$10
bottom